Unboxing: Carpe Librum’s January Book Box

img_0909

Hey guys! It’s January and Carpe Librum has just released their first book subscription box of 2017!

So if you didn’t know, Carpe Librum is a bi-monthly book subscription service that costs $35 (including local shipping)and comes with a novel and a number of other little bookish goodies.

This month’s theme was ‘Out of This World’ and let me assure you, the box was completely out of this world. So let’s get to what was inside:

1. Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth

img_5991

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Goodreads

Published: 17 January 2017

This month’s book was a hardback copy Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth. Let me repeat that to make sure you got it. HARDBACK.

I was honestly so excited to receive this because it was only released late last week so how cool that they decided to be so current?

I’m also really digging the fact that they decided to do a Young Adult novel again because you guys know I live for YA and it just really gives the box this added boost that just makes us Singaporean subscribers feel like we aren’t missing out on anything special from the American and Australian book boxes.

I feel bad saying this because I’m currently doing a big feature in HYPE magazine about Singaporean authors and their books, but seriously. Getting books that are hyped worldwide is such a treat in a local box in my opinion.

Anyway, at this point, I’m sure you have heard just as much as I have about Carve The Mark. There has been so much controversy about this book however I refuse to boycott it until I’ve read it. The internet has just gotten too sensitive to even function anymore jeez.

I personally cant wait to get to this book.

2. A Moon Phase Watch

img_5996

Okay when I saw that the Carpe Librum team had included a watch in this month’s box, I quite nearly died. I mean seriously. A watch. How. What. Why.

Guys.

I died okay.

The watch is so pretty and I can assure you that I’ll be wearing it for a very long time because it’s really adorable. And the funny thing is that I’ve been thinking of buying a Rosefield watch lately and obviously this is nothing like a Rosefield and I’ll probably still end up buying one but like how funny that this should come in right when I decided I needed a new watch?

3. Galaxy Keychain

img_5994

Just look at this keychain. How mesmerisingly gorgeous is it? Okay actually the picture does not do this justice.

Honestly I didn’t think Carpe Librum could impress me anymore with this box after the watch and the book but they did. I am in love with this keychain. Honestly it’s beautiful and I don’t really know where to hang it yet but I’m going to hang it somewhere because it’s a beauty and it’s purple which is my favourite colour.

4. Leia The Space Goddess Soy Candle

fullsizerender-5

In every box, there is always at least one thing that I don’t quite fancy and unfortunately, it was this candle. Now don’t get me wrong. I love love love scented candles.

In fact, when I saw it in the box, I got so excited. Even more so when I saw that it was a Leia soy candle (even though I don’t watch Star Wars). So I opened the tin and I saw the blue wax with the glitter on top and my heart was soaring because GLITTER AND SCENTED CANDLES AND BLUE WAX. But then I took a sniff of it.

Now okay I don’t completely hate the smell. I mean really it’s not that bad. But it does have a very medicated oil kind of smell which after I identified it, I couldn’t stop smelling it. Now obviously everyone likes different scents so maybe if you have smelt this candle before, you might like it. Everyone’s different. I personally didn’t like it.

Though I do like looking at the glittery wax so there’s that.

5. A Bookmark

fullsizerender-4

The box came with a Carve The Mark bookmark which I think was a nice touch. Nothing remarkable but it’s nice.

6. Stickers

img_6001

I love stickers and this month’s box came with three space themed ones. I’m still trying to figure out if they are normal stickers or laptop stickers or if it doesn’t matter. Regardless, I’m in love with them!

The designs are gorgeous and the sticker with the quote is literally perfection. It’s actually one of my favourite book quotes so this was a very lovely surprise. I can’t wait to stick them over my stuff.

So that’s all that was in this month’s Carpe Librum book box. Honestly guys, I’ve been getting every single one of their boxes for a very long time now and I can truly say that this is their best one yet.

fullsizerender-3

I’m not joking or exaggerating at all when I tell you that I screamed and started jumping around in joy when I opened the box. And if you need further proof, I’ll tell you that I was wearing a strapless bra and it fell off. Too much info? Okay I’ll stop.

But seriously guys. I am so proud of how far Carpe Librum has come and I truly hope that the incredible standard of this box carries through with the rest of their boxes in 2017.

If you want to get your hands on the next box, you can visit Carpe Librum’s Facebook page or their Instagram page to find out more.

If you got a box, let me know in the comments what your favourite item was this month.

blog_signature

4 thoughts on “Unboxing: Carpe Librum’s January Book Box

  1. Avalon says:

    I love the look of the stickers and candles! Hope you share a review of how you like the book. Wondering if I should give Veronica Roth another chance haha.

    – Avalon from simplyavalon.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • camilliadass says:

      i certainly will review the book once I’ve read it 🙂 I think you should at least try it yourself and then make your judgements. Sometimes the voice of one person in the community can be so strong that things that aren’t completely true or in context get spread and it’s a pity especially if it isn’t true.

      Like

Leave a Reply

