Review: What Light by Jay Asher

9781509840762 What Light.jpg

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

Goodreads

For starters, Starbucks has released their Christmas drinks already which basically means that it’s Christmas already so you totally can read this Christmas-y book without feeling weird.

Plot

This is your typical, sugar sweet, cotton candy YA contemporary novel. We follow Sierra, a girl who spends every Christmas at her parent’s Christmas tree farm. She helps out there and while she misses her friends back home, she loves coming to the farm every year and spending Christmas with her Christmas friend, Heather.

This year, Sierra meets Caleb. A boy who many people have warned her away from. But of course, when someone tells you not to do something, you will do it. So yes, they fall in love and they have to battle the odds against them.

Yup. Just your typical YA love story.

Characters

Sierra

The entire book was narrated through Sierra and I’ll be honest, I actually quite liked her. Even though she was placed in a very shallow plot, I found that she thought very maturely and I liked how forgiving and sentimental she was. I’m very sentimental so I totally got her on that level. I also loved how she saw Caleb for more then his mistake. I think everyone (except cheaters) deserve second chances so I appreciated her for doing that for Caleb.

Caleb

I liked Caleb too. The only thing I didn’t get was why he was so badly shunned. I mean what he did wasn’t that bad. And for the whole entire town to suddenly act like he was the devil reincarnated. I just found it a bit excessive.

I mean honestly, it just felt like Jay Asher could not think of something big enough so he took a smaller thing and played it up but it was done so badly that it just failed. Kind of reminded me of why I couldn’t appreciate Thirteen Reasons Why all that much too.

But otherwise, Caleb was literally boyfriend goals. He had such a good heart and he was a really well-developed character.

Overall

Overall I liked the characters in the book. I did. The only thing that ruined it was the simple plot. I mean okay, you guys know I prefer to read fiction books about big social issues so take this with a pinch of salt.

It was a very cute, simple and quick read that is perfect for Christmas. In fact, it really gave me all the Christmas feels. It’s very warm and fuzzy but there really isn’t any substance in the plot.

So if you’re looking for something easy to curl up with while sipping a peppermint mocha this holiday, I would totally recommend this book. If  you’re like me and need to read something that will make you think and change how you look at the world, stay far away from the book because it is very generic and it does follow the typical John Green formula (that I hate).

Instead, you could read Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult because we need more books like this especially now that Trump holds the most important job in the world (I won’t ever stop being angry and upset about this).

*A copy of this book was provided to me to read and review by Pansing. All opinions, however, are my own*

My-Rating-3-Stars

blog_signature

2 thoughts on “Review: What Light by Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

