Review: The Girl Before By J.P. Delaney

28016509.jpg

In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

Emma
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

Jane
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Goodreads

Publishing Date: 24th January 2017

I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump for the past few months. My reading has dramatically reduced and admittedly, that’s been taking quite a toll on me.

So when I started this book and found myself flying through it, picking it up at every spare moment and constantly thinking about it, all I could think was that “Hey. I’m freaking back!”

This book pulled me out of a slump guys. It was that good.

Plot

In this book, we are introduced to two main narrators. We have Jane, who exists in the present, and we have  Emma, the woman who died tragically in the house that Jane now lives in.

We follow both these woman as they go through personal tragedies. However, the one thing that they have in common is One Folgate Street. A pristine house that was designed by the illustrious Edward Monkford.

Both woman, at one point in their lives, find themselves living in One Folgate Street and in a relationship with Edward.

So we follow Emma as she goes through her life up to the point that she dies mysteriously in One Folgate Street.

Simultaneously, we are also following Jane as she lives in One Folgate Street in the present day. Jane is trying to find out what exactly happened to Emma. So she visits all the people involved with Emma in that time and slowly works through the mystery that her death was.

Characters

This is going to be so hard to do without spoiling anything so bear with me.

Emma

Emma was a very interesting character from the very beginning. It’s quite fascinating because even though you’re in her head, you don’t start seeing any red flags till much later in the story.

I think in the end I just felt sorry for her. I mean Emma obviously had a lot of things that were out of her control. While that did not excuse anything that was done by her, I really think the people around her just failed her so badly.

Jane

Wow. What do I even say about Jane. At the end, all I wanted to do was to give her a standing ovation. She was brilliant. Scarily brilliant. Every decision just seemed to be haphazard but in the end, when everything solves itself with a big red bow, she comes out and topples every single thing you thought about her throughout the entire book. I mean seriously. I applaud her. She was something that’s for sure.

Overall

I thought this book was excellent. I mean it was paced supremely well, it built up very nicely and it didn’t turn Jane into a complete Nancy Drew which is one of my pet peeves when it comes to mystery books.

Probably my only complaint is that Emma and Jane’s voices sounded terribly similar and I had to check back to see who’s POV I was reading from many times because they literally sounded like the same person.

However considering how the story evolved, I can forgive her *wink wink* (God I wish I could spoil this)

I think it was just a story that was thought through very throughly. I mean I thought the mystery was pretty airtight and I only saw the ending when we were literally at the ending so either I’m clueless or this author is just brilliant.

I mean I would kill to know who the heck is behind J.P. Delaney. If you didn’t know, this book was written under a pseudonym. So really I am completely expecting someone dynamic behind this name because gosh. It was amazing.

One of the fun parts of this book is the fact that at the end of most of the chapters, the book will present you with a multiple choice question and a made up scenario created to test your heart and mind. In keeping with the fun, I thought I would answer the main question posed in this book myself:

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life:

  1.  My Kindle
  2.  The special pillow my mum gave me when I was born (and which I’ve slept with my whole life)
  3. My teddy bear
  4. My phone
  5. My laptop

*A copy of this book was provided to me to read and review by the publishers. All opinions are my own.*

My-Rating-5-Stars

blog_signature

4 thoughts on “Review: The Girl Before By J.P. Delaney

Leave a Reply

