Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyers (Spoiler-Free)

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Goodreads

Publishing Date: 8th November 2016

*A copy of this book was provided to me to read and review by Pansing. However, all opinions are my own*

Even though I have yet to finish the Lunar Chronicles, I have always thought that Marissa Meyer was a great storyteller. I love how she takes popular fairytales and weaves them into something that is very clearly hers.

So when Pansing reached out and offered to send me this book to read and review, I literally fell over myself to grab it. I started reading it the day it arrived and guys…

Oh. My. God.

This book was everything!!

It broke my little heart into many pieces and it was just amazing and epic and heartbreaking and EVERYTHING!

Plot

This book is based on Alice In Wonderland but Marissa spins it such that the story focuses on the Queen Of Hearts before she became the tyrant queen that she did.

We follow Catherine, a young girl who loves life, her friends and baking. Catherine is a lady of high regard in Hearts and because of her status, her parents have been trying to marry her off to the king.

Catherine, however, wants nothing more then a simple life. She wants to open a bakery with her maid, marry for love and to spend her days elbow deep in flour.

Then one day, Catherine meets Jest. Jest is the new court joker and he introduces her to a whole different side of Hearts. He brings her to eccentric tea parties, sneaks her around and shows her a kind of love that she has never experienced before.

The only problem is that her parents really, really want her to marry the king.

Surrounding this tragic Romeo and Juliet love story lies a whole story about cursed pumpkin seeds, Jabberwocks and trickery beyond anything that you would ever expect.

Characters

Catherine

large-1.gif

Cath was just one of those characters that you will root for from start to finish. No matter what she did, good, bad, utterly horrific, I couldn’t help but just want the very best for her.

Over the course of the book, I found myself wondering at many points, how this sweet kid became the horrific Queen of Hearts that we know and (kinda) love.

However I felt that her character just really grew with the book. And I mean that is something you don’t see very often in books. A character growing with the book. So I really loved Cath despite some of the questionable choices she made.

Not to mention that the book completely let’s you know how sweet little Cath turned into a tyrant.

Jest

Jest. Oh my Jest. Guys I can’t even begin to explain what an amazing character Jest was from start to finish. He was the perfect Romeo to Cath’s Juliet. He was just so perfect. I mean okay yes there were a couple of bits that made me go, “Really Jest? Really”. But overall he was just amazing.

He had amazing chemistry with Cath and even with every other character in the book. He was such a gentleman *swoon* and he was just perfect.

tumblr_mzhyec5VpS1tq4of6o1_400.gif

I loved every bit of his character.

Hatter

tumblr_nsvuo7x8w51uq521lo1_500.gif

You know, in the original story, Hatter is my favourite character. In fact, one of my favourite quotes in the world is partly by him.

Mad Matter: “Have I gone mad?”
Alice: “I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”

So I have to say that it was very interesting to get to explore his character and to find out where he came from, how he came to be and to watch him slowly dissolve into the mad state that we see him in later on.

Personally, I didn’t appreciate the sane Hatter as much as I did the mad one. I guess it was easier to excuse Hatter’s antics when he was mad. When he was sane, everything he did was just infuriating and rather daft if you ask me.

Overall

Overall I really loved the book. I found the storyline to be epic, the characters to be dynamic and the plot to be just perfect.

Everything was done in a way that made it all believable. I mean you go through the book thinking, “How on earth does all this make sense? It doesn’t fit into Alice in Wonderland.” And then suddenly, at the end, everything wraps up with a neat little bow and all the pieces fall into place and you’re just left there like, “WOAH.”

Okay I’ll stop hyping this book but I’ll leave you with this. You’ll be absolutely mad to not read this book.

My-Rating-5-Stars

blog_signature

4 thoughts on “Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyers (Spoiler-Free)

Leave a Reply

