Sunday Summary: 100 Followers and My Embalming article

Hey guys! It’s been a while since I’ve updated you on my life so I thought it might be fun to give you guys a little rundown about what I’ve been up to.

1. 100 followers
Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 8.49.32 PM.png

Last week, Twenty Three Pages not only hit it’s one year anniversary of being on WordPress but we also hit 100 followers!

I was so ridiculously excited about this and I just wanted to say a huge thank you to all you beautiful people that follow me, read my posts and comment on my stuff.


When I started my blog, I never expected it to grow as much as it has but somehow, here we are. I’m so grateful for the people that I have met and the support I have received.

I know a lot of people like to say that it’s never about the numbers and while that is very true for me, I have to admit that it’s very nice to see my readers growing with me. So thank you.

2. My Embalmer article

Some of you may know this if you follow me on my other social media but a month ago, I published one of my most controversial and fascinating articles to date.

Now if you don’t know, I pitched a series called ‘Working On The Dead’ about three months ago and while I have not really talked about it in great detail here, the series affected me incredibly in terms of my emotional state and now that it is mostly over, I feel like I need to put it up here because I always put my heart up here and I couldn’t not do it this time.

13887043_1256213677742629_5650153690652580032_n.jpg

I never talked about what it was like going for my first undertaker and embalmer interviews because that day, I met someone I was not supposed to meet and I ended up sweet-talking my way into getting him to sneak me into an embalming room where an actual embalming was going on.

13900316_1256213674409296_5981388673196683560_n.jpg

I spent about five minutes in that room and then spent the next month paying for it dearly.

I spent weeks with my emotions in a complete wreck. I had anxiety attack after anxiety attack. I had nightmares. I fell apart in a lot of ways because I was not prepared to watch that embalming and it was just so violent that I couldn’t deal with it.

And the worst part was that I couldn’t tell very many people about what I was feeling. I never knew who could handle hearing the gory details and even if they could, many people did just say to me, “Well you pitched it. You wanted this.”

So when Serenity Casket reached out to me after my undertaker article was published and offered to let us film an entire embalming from start to finish, I freaked out.

And the worst part was that I couldn’t say no. I needed to say yes for the story. I needed to just be brave because I was being handed an opportunity almost no journalist in Singapore had ever gotten and I had to say yes.


I remember how hard I was shaking when I received the text that someone had died and that we needed to grab a cab and come down immediately. I really thought I would not be able to handle it.

Thankfully, I had a colleague with me and the team at Serenity was just so wonderful that I just wasn’t scared. Yes I did have my moments when I had to turn away or when I had to focus the camera on something and then just close my eyes (that made for a very interesting editing experience) and yes I was scared. But the whole experience was just so peaceful and so much better then anything my terrified brain could ever come up with.

13876692_1256213731075957_5573642554370081634_n.jpg

After that, I spent two weeks editing the video and writing the article. The video was an interesting experience because we had so much footage and a lot of gory stuff. So me, being me, wanted to include almost every gory bit and it was a long process working with two of my editors to cut down the gory stuff and to make it informational.

Finally, we published the article. It was entitled Working on the dead: The embalmer and it was my pride and joy. Okay now standby while I toot my own horn for a bit.

The article quickly accumulated 10,000 views in the first day and by the end of the week, it was at 30,000+ organically.

So Youth.SG decided to boost the post. Meaning that they paid Facebook and Twitter $600 and my article started popping up everywhere. A friend even saw it on 9GAG which was insane.


Eventually, the post ended up being the most read article on the site. And that’s the most read article out of 10 years of articles. It was my proudest moment.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 10.21.18 PM.png

I mean having my friends and people I know coming up to me in real life to ask about the article was just mind-blowing and I was so excited by the success.

Okay I’m done being proud haha.

3. Extending my internship

I have officially ended the required 22 weeks of internship that I have been doing since March and I was so blessed that I was asked by my editors to extend my internship.

So I’ve extended it by another month and I’ll be done on the 12th of September. I signed the contract last Friday. So far it’s been okay. I mean it sucks that my friends that were with me from the start in March have now left but I’m managing.

So there you have it. I really didn’t expect this post to be as long as it became so I’ll cut a few updates out and perhaps do another What’s Up Wednesday or Sunday Summary soon.

See you guys tomorrow!

blog_signature

4 thoughts on “Sunday Summary: 100 Followers and My Embalming article

Leave a Reply

