Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

25582820.jpg

“The Breakfast Club” gets a modern, high-stakes reboot in this story of four very different teens and a night that changes them forever.

The Rebel: Once popular, Andi is now a dreadlocked, tattooed wild child.
The Bully: York torments everyone who crosses his path, especially his younger brother.
The Geek: Tired of being bullied, Boston is obsessed with getting into an Ivy League college.
The Pariah: Choosing to be invisible has always worked for Sam . . . until tonight.

When Andi, York, Boston, and Sam find themselves hiding in the woods after a party gets busted by the cops, they hop into the nearest car they see and take off—the first decision of many in a night that will change their lives forever. By the light of day, these four would never be caught dead together, but when their getaway takes a dangerously unpredictable turn, sticking together could be the only way to survive.

Goodreads

Plot

This book follows four very different teenagers that are thrust together due to their circumstances. In trying to escape from getting busted at a party, Andie, Sam, Boston and York find themselves with a stolen car, about a million dollars in heroin and on the run from drug dealers.

I thought it was a very unique kind of storyline and I enjoyed how each character brought their own set of traits and problems to the story that overall made it extremely enjoyable.

Characters

Sam

The book was narrated from Sam’s point of view which I personally loved because Sam was the odd one out. Being unpopular and having a drug addict for a mother really made Sam stand out. I also really liked how she was ‘invisible’.

I think everyone at some point  can relate to Sam because don’t we all fear being invisible? Sam was all our secret fears. The fear that no one really cares to remember us. I just enjoyed being in her head even though she was depressing.

stitch-invisible.gif

Andie

Andie was your typical bad girl with a marshmallow heart. She was infuriating in the beginning but I think she’s the type that will just worm her way into your heart no matter  if you want her too or not.

I do have to say though that she was not my favourite character because of certain things she did that I can’t talk about because of spoilers. But I thought the way she reacted to Sam telling them her stories was just really sweet.

Boston

Boston  did seem very much like someone I could end up liking because his fear of getting into trouble sounded exactly like how I usually react to situations where I might get into trouble. However he very quickly got irritating and I think when York asked if Boston would bail on the team if he could and Boston didn’t say anything, I just decided that I outright hated him.

York

I really wanted to like York but as the ‘bully’, I found it very hard to. I mean sure by the end of the book, York ended up being a pretty decent human being. However I tend to find it hard to like characters that start off as bullies.

I did however feel like the relationship between York and Sam was very forced though. Like oh okay, it’s a YA book so I guess there has to be a love story right? I mean it won’t do well without one right? UGH.

I’m sick of books forcing romances out of their storylines. York and Sam just felt forced and insta-lovey. Yuck.

dsfg.gif

Overall

I really enjoyed this book despite the flawed characters. In fact, it felt like I was taking a road trip with some of my best friends and that just felt good.

I think this is just a very feel-good kind of book with a lot of action in it that will just make this a very satisfying read.

tumblr_nq40dwFHs91qfyjoto1_500.gif

My-Rating-4-Stars

blog_signature

3 thoughts on “Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

Leave a Reply

