Review: The Color of Darkness by Andrew Knight

30375585.jpg

Irrepressible.
Extraordinary.
Indestructible.

Her name is Nova, like the muscle car, or a supernova, and she is a cosmic hurricane in Puck’s world. She swears, drinks, lives among the stars, and he can’t help but fall hopelessly in love with her. Is it love? Infatuation? Enamoration? He’s not sure if he’ll ever find out. He is sure, however, that the only thing that can understand one broken heart is another.

Goodreads

It’s honestly so rare nowadays that you will come across a young adult book that just feels so much like poetry and literature that you can’t help but be drawn into the lull of the beautifully complicated words and the simple story line that is made elaborate by the silky words woven between the paragraphs.

Plot

This book follows three friends. Ricky, Andy and Nova. Andy and Nova in particular come from difficult backgrounds and so when they start to fall in love with each other, there are a lot of things that stand in the way. Mainly the fact that they both have very different ideas of what it means to love another. That essentially makes up the crux of the book.

Characters

Andy

I felt particularly drawn to Andy because he is a writer like myself. I loved how he thought of words. I feel like so few people nowadays see the beauty of words. I mean ever since I was ten and developed a love for writing, I’ve realized the power of words. I’ve known that there is a lot of truth when we put pen to paper and I think Andy really brought that out not only in his own writing but also in his train of thought. I just really enjoyed his character and watching him develop as a writer and as a person as a result of his words if that makes sense.

Nova

Nova was one of those characters that you simply cannot hate because they are victims of circumstance. I mean believe me. I really wanted to hate her. The way she treated Andy was just horrible and she was honestly more of a bully then a friend at certain points but when she finally sat down with Andy and they had their big talk, I think I really felt for her and it was a bit impossible to remain angry at her.

Ricky

I can’t talk much about Ricky without giving away spoilers but I have to say that he made a very nice side story. I enjoyed watching him grow as a person and be who he was. I think he was a great addition to the little trio and you just have to read the book to find out everything else that was pretty great about him.

Overall

Overall I really enjoyed the book. I felt like it was your classic young adult contemporary romance that was made special by it’s use of beautiful words and tragic backstories. I really enjoyed it and I think it really turned a pretty ordinary story into a much more unique and special one.

My-Rating-4-Stars

blog_signature

Leave a Reply

