Second Blogiversary: Four Blogging Tips

tumblr_inline_o7p13ldM9M1s2hz6c_500.gif

Hey guys! Guess what today is! It’s Twenty Three Page’s second birthday! My blog is two years old! How did that even happen?

I’m so grateful for all of you who have stuck around. I feel like we’ve really been through loads together over the years and I honestly cannot say thank you enough.

tumblr_m54tqapY5a1rooy1q.gif

This blog has helped me grow as a person and I just really don’t think my life would have ever been the same without the wonderful community of people I’ve met through it and the things that blogging has taught me.

1464013599-635794286490350332-493145492-group-hug.gif

So recently, I’ve been receiving a lot of emails from you guys telling me that you’ve been inspired by my blog to create your own blogs and you guys have been asking me for advice on starting it up and maintaining it.

Firstly, I’m honoured that I’ve inspired people to create their own blogs. I think that’s one of the highest praises I could receive.

Secondly, while I have replied individually to everyone that has emailed me, I thought it might be interesting to do a post where I give you guys some round up tips on starting and maintaining a blog.

Now I kind of did something like this when I received the Blogger Recognition Award in 2015 but let’s be honest, there has been so much I’ve learned since then and I’m excited to share them with you.

Social media is your best friend

88426ea82cf7a4415ee90110b2310db1.gif

This year, I finally decided to revive the Twitter I created for my blog. So I revamped it, followed loads of bloggers and used it to tweet out links to my latest blog posts, enter giveaways and interact with bloggers and readers.

Social media is vital and I noticed a jump in my stats when I started promoting my posts on Twitter and Pinterest.

You can obviously use any social media platform that you like. In fact, Facebook is also an excellent way to promote your stuff. You can even join blogging groups on Facebook where they let you blast your links to loads of other bloggers. It’s very helpful and a great way to integrate yourself in the community.

(Subtle hint to follow me on Twitter and Pinterest haha)

Create a posting schedule

time_drag_and_fly.gif

This year, I also decided to create a posting schedule. This was largely because when I started my internship, I knew I could no longer manage my habit of posting whenever and at whatever time I pleased because if I did, I would probably never post at all.

So I decided on Mondays and Fridays at 10am as my posting dates and time. This was decided through a poll I ran on Twitter. It’s important when deciding on days and times to involve your readers and to get their opinions. Especially considering that your readers are probably coming from around the world.

You want to make sure that you are posting at a time when most people are awake and have the time to be reading. Posting when majority of your readers are asleep or at school or work is pointless.

That said though, make sure that the timings also aren’t crazy for you. Majority of my readers are from America and your guys are 12 whole hours behind me. That can make life a bit difficult. So make sure that it is a time that suits you and your readers.

Create an editorial calendar

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 4.12.44 PM.png

I created an editorial calendar for myself earlier in February this year because I wanted to be more organised and I wanted to be able to plan and schedule posts so that when I started my internship, it would be easy to write the week’s posts over the weekend and then just schedule them to go live by themselves.

So I created the above editorial calendar (sneak peek into the life of me) and I have not had a single regret since then. The editorial calendar provides me with a sense of organisation and responsibility that I didn’t have before. It also gives me a nice overlook so I know when I’m posting too much of one thing (like reviews) so I can switch things up.

It also helps me keep track of my blog tours and when certain ARC reviews need to go up.

Post what you wanna post!

giphy.gif

Listen. There is no such thing as if you post what everyone else is, you will be guaranteed amazing stats. Post what you want and what you are passionate about. That’s the only way to make it.

So there you have it! I hope this helped you if you are thinking about starting a blog and you can feel free to ask me any questions in the comments or in an email. I will always respond to you.

Once again, thank you for the last two years and here’s to many more. I love you guys!

blog_signature

 

10 thoughts on “Second Blogiversary: Four Blogging Tips

  1. j.belk says:

    Congratulations on two years, Camillia!! I definitely agree with you on those blogging tips, especially the posting schedule & “social media is your best friend”. Here’s to many, MANY more years of wonderful posts and new experiences! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

