Going Out More Often (GOMO)

EB-GOMO.jpg

Hey guys! So recently, I learnt about Eventbrite’s new campaign called, Going Out More Often (GOMO). Basically GOMO is about getting out of your comfort zone, doing more things and staying away fro Netflix and the dreaded Fear Of Missing Out (FOMO).

So  I was inspired to share  my GOMO bucket list. Basically what I plan to be doing this summer to go out more and to enjoy the outdoors.

Now as a major introvert who loves to read, going out for me is quite frankly a chore. I tend to isolate myself a lot because being social or in crowded places tends to just drain me and I just don’t see the point.

However this year, I feel like I have really put in a lot of effort to change that about myself. While I still really cringe every time I have to be social, I have been forcing myself to get out more, connect with friends and to just enjoy life a bit more.

Certainly it helps that I am a budding journalist and that basically means that by default I have to attend loads of events and press conferences and I have to be able to network an talk to people.

Anyway, let me share what I have been up to and what I plan to do.

The Greyson Chance Concert

Last week, I got the amazing opportunity to meet Greyson Chance and to film The Whisper Challenge with him.

It was amazing and Greyson was so wonderful and humble. He actually walked out of the press room to get a coffee and he saw us standing outside waiting for our time to go in and he came up to us and said, “Hey I guess we will be talking soon but I’m Greyson.” And he shook our hands. I mean how many celebrities would introduce themselves?

Then when we walked into the room, he immediately went to hug me and was like, ‘Hey! Long time no see!” HOW CUTE?!

He hugged me twice (three times if you count the photo) and he was just such a gem. The next day, I got to attend his concert. It was a very unique experience and I’m telling you this because that was me going out and I’m proud of that.

I also will be attending the Kurt Schneider and Sam Tsui concert next month so that’s another concert that I’m going to.

Hanging Out

If you haven’t gathered, I’m really not a very outgoing and wild person so for me, a quality catch up over a meal is the perfect way to spend time with a friend. Lately I’ve been making more of an effort to keep alive friendships and to meet friends for lunch or dinner. In fact, I’ve got a lunch with a friend next week that I’m super excited about. Yes. I know. Nothing crazy over here. Just plain and simple hanging out.

I guess a goal for me would be to go out with more of my friends and to reconnect with them. I’m not very good at maintaining friendships but I’m working on it so I’m hoping to do more friend meals.

So there you have it. It’s not an impressive bucket list but it’s my bucket list and I’m happy with it so that’s all that matters.

Don’t forget that it’s not a crime to not enjoy wild parties and doing crazy things. You do you. If you wanna go out and be wild, go ahead. If you are like me and prefer curling up in bed with a good book, then do that! It’s not a crime and no one should make you feel like it is.

blog_signature

 

Leave a Reply

