Adulting: Is The Struggle Real?

ADULT.gif

Recently, I was inspired to give you guys some tips about this strange thing called ‘adulting’. Basically, the art of being of a grownup age and being required to act as a grownup while essentially having no idea how to do it.

I’m going to be 20 this year (oh god) and  while I have yet to move out because we just don’t that in Singapore till we go to university or we get married, I have had to learn to grow up and manage a lot more stuff now.

So here are a couple of tips and things to do to help you become an adult:

1. Get a planner

8be37c35323d7486ca5da0a11e667578.gif

When I started my internship in March, one of the first things I did was to get a simple but super useful $2 planner from Muji.

It was only $2 but it changed my life. I am a very visual person so I used different coloured pens to mark down the things I had to do, the events I had to attend and the different deadlines and publishing dates of my articles.

It’s been so helpful for me to get more things done in a day and it’s just a great way to keep your head on your shoulders.

2. Learn to take care of yourself emotionally

giphy-1.gif

Now I’m not saying that all of a sudden you have to forgo your best friends and stop depending on them for emotional support. I mean everyone needs emotional support from people.

What I do mean though is learn everything that is to learn about yourself. Know the things that make you happy and know what makes you sad. Know what will pull you out of a funk and know what to avoid when you do get down.

In this way, you are able to control yourself better and you won’t constantly be a babbling mess of emotions.

Again, not saying that you can’t breakdown. Just that it’s good to know how to help yourself so you look more put together on the outside.

3. You know what you are doing in life

6359754621389008111411140769_future.gif

There is a stage in everyone’s life where they are allowed to flounder around and not know which direction their lives are taking them. When you start to become an adult though, you better know what you are doing.

I can’t say much on this because I have known that I wanted to write for a career ever since  I was 10. But really, once you’ve started entering adulthood, you need to get down what you want to do in life. You need to start working towards a career. Building a resume that is targeted to that career, studying things that are related to your career and basically getting ready to be a working and self-sufficient human being.

So if you haven’t figured out what you want to do with your life, here’s your wake up call. Figure it out. And if you need help, you can always try Credit Card Insider for some help. They have great resources to help you out.

So there you have it. A couple of tips to help you be a better adult. Quite honestly I found this quite hard because I realised that I am a very bad adult and really I am still five so I don’t know what you are doing taking advice from me but hey, I tried right?

blog_signature

 

3 thoughts on “Adulting: Is The Struggle Real?

  1. j.belk says:

    Such a great post!! When I am an adult I’ll definitely refer to these tips, even though I’m really not looking forward to adulting (is that even a word…?)… 😉

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

