Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating

23466626.jpg

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Goodreads

I quite honestly wasn’t sure if I wanted to review this book because so much of it bore such striking resemblance to my own life that I wanted to put it down multiple times especially within the first 30% of it. In fact I’m still not sure what exactly I’m doing because this is so personal it’s a bit cringe-y. Okay.

Let me explain.

I have an imaginary cast in my head. I personify the voice in my head as two people with a names and a bodies and everything except faces.

I can never imagine the faces of anyone that I have never physically met or seen a picture of. In fact that’s why I never have a casting preference for book-movie adaptations. Simply because I can never see faces in my head.

So while I wouldn’t say that I have exactly what Alice had (obviously, that would be really crazy), I’ve always imagined that there was someone there who would be my sort of perfect (and unrealistic) boyfriend but also not really. It’s hard to explain but basically we hang out in my mind scape and he’s just there.

Anyway, I had exactly what happened to Alice happen in real life to me some time ago.

I met this person who had the same name as my imaginary ‘boyfriend’ and who checked every single one of my boxes when it comes to a life partner and he had every single thing but he was off the market if you know what I mean. Just like Max was.

So reading this book was a bit weird for me because the whole first part was just ridiculously similar to what happened when I met this person that I was a bit freaked out.

Okay enough of me because that was so cringe to write. Let’s talk about the book.

Plot

I thought the whole premise of the story was something that was very interesting and fairly unheard of in the YA genre. I thought the idea of two people dreaming of each other their whole lives and then meeting was just such a unique concept that has never really been explored.

However I feel like the whole story was geared towards them trying to fix this part of themselves that was ruined by a dream centre and yet somehow, when it got to the part when they were supposed to get all their answers, it was very rushed and barely explained and it was almost just brushed off.

I wanted to know how it was possible. I wanted to know what this person did to stop the dreams. I wanted to know what happened and I didn’t get that and it irked me to no end.

Tell-me-how-GIF.gif

My second problem was the dreams. I hate it when contemporary books do dream sequences because it’s so unrealistic! The reality is that most of us only remember 30% of a dream (or nothing at all!) and probably one in 30 dreams actually make sense or have a  structure to it and that leaves something for you to think about.

But when authors do dream sequences, they always make them structured in a way and while yes this book did have dreams with giant Jenga and talking parrots and teleporting, I felt like each dream was very structured and there was always so much sense in each dream. I just feel like it was unrealistic.

tumblr_nue642S8xR1ug3ij2o1_500.gif

Charachters

Alice

I really liked Alice. I felt like I could relate to her a lot. Loving someone more then the person loved you back. Always being afraid that people were going to leave and that if things didn’t stay exactly the same way then everything will go wrong and the person will disappear.

I just felt like she was everybody’s secret fear. She embodied what everyone is secretly scared of but won’t ever admit for fear of sounding like a loser or just desperate.

giphy.gif

Max

Max was a very decent guy in that he did exactly what he should have done but I found it hard to like him that much mainly because he reminded me a lot of the person I was talking about earlier. That guy was so up and down and Max reminded me of how insecure he used to make me feel.

I didn’t like how he toyed with Alice’s feelings and forced her to ride his rollercoaster. I mean he knew how much she reflected how he acted towards her and yet he took her on a wild ride and let his emotions take him away and in the process, Alice too.

He just reminded me of all the people in my past that have taken advantage of the fact that I ride everyone’s rollercoaster and I didn’t like that at all.

giphy-1.gif

Overall

I think it was a good concept and I can see it going very far. I mean in the end it was a very cute story and I did enjoy the mushy-gushy aspect of it.

But I feel like the crux of the story lay in solving the mystery of their dreams and it was done very haphazardly. Too much attention was put on making it a cute romance and not enough on the fact that there was a very real problem that needed to be solved.

So I would totally recommend this book for the romance but if you actually wanted to get to the bottom of the weird things going on, you’re probably better off reading Never Never by Colleen Hoover.

My-Rating-3-Stars

I’ll see you soon

blog_signature

 

One thought on “Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating

Leave a Reply

