Review: The Rose & The Dagger (The Wrath and The Dawn #2) by Renée Ahdieh

23308084.jpg

I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.

Goodreads

I feel like I’ve been waiting for this day for absolutely eons. Ever since I read The Wrath and The Dawn, I’ve been eagerly anticipating it’s sequel, The Rose and The Dagger. I couldn’t get my hands on this baby fast enough and even though I took a while to devour it, I enjoyed every second of it and that’s all that matters.

So here’s my spoiler-free review of The Rose and The Dagger.

Plot

The Rose and The Dagger picked up right where The Wrath and The Dawn left us. There was no slowly easing back into the world or any of that fluff. Nope. We were dragged right back into the heart of the story and it was freaking amazing!

Spongebob-panics.gif

There was a lot more action in this book as compared to the first book which was really amazing.I loved the flying carpets and serpents and fire swords and arrows. I really loved it.

In this book, Shazi was much more of a badaass warrior as compared to the first book. She was able to do everything that the men did and she made sure everyone around her knew that. The book just promoted such strong female positive images and I really liked that because I know that especially in India, women are rarely taken seriously. So this was an awesome step in the right direction.

tumblr_m7jic2YbPy1r9xerro1_500.gif

As a result of more fighting, we did see less of a love story. While it was present, I did feel at times that I wanted more. I thought that it felt very much like Romeo and Juliet which was good in that it kept me wanting more but also bad because I fell in love with The Wrath and The Dawn for Khalid and Shazi’s love and I felt like that aspect was buried a bit in the sequel. That said though, the forbidden aspect of their love was so much fun to be a part of and if anything, their love was just even more inspiring.

giphy.gif

I also loved just how much happened in this book. There was so many times that I started to cry or laugh or just stopped reading in shock. Like this book really took things to new levels and Renee really allowed herself the freedom to do things that most writers would be afraid to tackle.

One of the best parts of the book however was the fact that Irsa got a much bigger role and a love interest. I really enjoyed getting to see Irsa develop from being a sidekick to a warrior. I mean as a reader, Irsa did feel like this little one that needed to be protected but it was pretty fascinating to see her break out of that and fall in love and stand up to Khalid and just become her own person.

Now on to what I felt was the only flaw in the story. Now I enjoyed this series. But I did feel like this book dragged a bit. There were parts that I felt could be cut short and some that didn’t really seem to fit right.

I guess for me I felt like The Wrath and The Dawn would have been good as a stand alone and that expanding the series just didn’t really do justice to how amazing the first book was.

Overall

Overall I really liked The Rose and The Dagger. There were parts that I felt were overdone and parts that I felt were little long but other then that, it was an amazing sequel to a magnificent first book.

I am sad that is is over though. I mean I went into this book not knowing that the series was only made of two books. I mean you know nowadays every single series is being stretched into four or five books. So it was a little bit of a shock when I got to the end and saw an epilogue and then it was just over.

But I liked it. I felt like the book really couldn’t go anywhere from where it ended and I’m glad that Renee ended it with this book.

So there you go! I can’t wait for her next book!

*A copy of this book was provided by Penguin for me to read and review however all opinions are my own*

My-Rating-4-Stars

blog_signature

 

Leave a Reply

