April Wrap Up

Guess what guess what! I read seven books this month!

Yes that’s right! I am getting my reading back! I am finally settling down and reading more. Now if only my Goodreads Reading Challenge would agree with that statement, we should be good.

Every Heart A Doorway Seanan McGuire

25526296.jpg

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

This book was given to me as an ARC by the publishers and I honestly wasn’t too sure about it. I mean I liked it. But it also reminded me a lot of Miss Peregrines’s Home For Peculiar Children and unpopular opinion here but I hated that book.

Read my full review here.

My-Rating-4-Stars

The Timekeeper by Mitch Albom

13624688

In this fable, the first man on earth to count the hours becomes Father Time.

The inventor of the world’s first clock is punished for trying to measure God’s greatest gift. He is banished to a cave for centuries and forced to listen to the voices of all who come after him seeking more days, more years. Eventually, with his soul nearly broken, Father Time is granted his freedom, along with a magical hourglass and a mission: a chance to redeem himself by teaching two earthly people the true meaning of time.

He returns to our world – now dominated by the hour-counting he so innocently began – and commences a journey with two unlikely partners: one a teenage girl who is about to give up on life, the other a wealthy old businessman who wants to live forever. To save himself, he must save them both. And stop the world to do so.

This book was actually spoiled for me by someone and that’s why I rushed to read it so that I didn’t end up convincing myself not to read it. I am so glad that I decided to push through with it. This is an amazing book with so much depth and I loved it.

Read my full review here.

My-Rating-5-Stars

A Series Of Unfortunate Events: The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

438492.jpg

Dear Reader,

If you have not read anything about the Baudelaire orphans, then before you read even one more sentence, you should know this: Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are kindhearted and quick-witted, but their lives, I am sorry to say, are filled with bad luck and misery. All of the stories about these three children are unhappy and wretched, and this one may be the worst of them all.If you haven’t got the stomach for a story that includes a hurricane, a signalling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny, then this book will probably fill you with despair.I will continue to record these tragic tales, for that is what I do. You, however, should decide for yourself whether you can possibly endure this miserable story.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

I listened to this on audiobook and I have to say that I really struggled to enjoy it mainly because I hated Lemony Snicket as a narrator. His voice just wasn’t as good as Tim Curry and I also found it to be very soft for some reason. Like I would be in a quiet car with the volume maxed out in my headphones and I would still have to strain to hear it. It was crazy.

That said though, the story was still really good as usual.

My-Rating-4-Stars

Sixty Seven Salamanders by Jeff Joseph

29757210

Adin Anderson lives in a small town where the stagnant flow of time is considered peace and quiet, but that isn’t good enough for him. He may not be a big believer in fate, but something bigger has to be out there for him. And the day he receives a random letter from an unlikely source may be it.

This was a book that was completely out of my genre and I didn’t hate it but let’s just say that I couldn’t wait for it to be over.

I did a full review here.

My-Rating-3-Stars

When We Collided by Emery Lord

25663637-1

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

This was a book that started out horrifically and ended amazingly. It deals with a mental illness and love and it was very cringey and insta-lovey in the beginning but once the book went into gear, it got so good.

I did a full review of it here.

My-Rating-4-Stars

The Start Of Me And You by Emery Lord

22429350.jpg

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

This was the Rainbow Bookclub’s BOTM and I have to say that I truly enjoyed it. It was such a positive book with no insta-love and no cliches and I thought it was excellent. The love story was very believable and overall it was just a very realistic book which I loved.

My-Rating-5-Stars

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

23203106.jpg

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

Okay this was a very strange little book. I mean it’s quite easily the strangest book I’ve ever read. Now I enjoy flowery language and unstable narrators as much as the next person but this book just overdid it to the point that I was actually so confused. I mean there was a lot of symbolism but some things just didn’t add up especially at the end where everything was ‘revealed’. I say ‘revealed’ because I don’t feel like a lot of the story was solved. Like the ending was just so unrealistic and it made no sense. Also the reactions of the characters to the big reveal was quite silly in my opinion. This was a very overly hyped book.

My-Rating-2-Stars

Yay! I read seven books! I’m honestly so happy with myself. Hopefully in May I’ll be able to do eight books!

blog_signature

 

4 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

  1. tinamedrano says:

    I still need to read our BOTM! I haven’t heard of the other books in your wrap up except for When We Collided and Winky Poppy Midnight. Winky Poppy Midnight just never caught my attention.

    My Wrap Up

    Liked by 1 person

    • camilliadass says:

      I think you would love The Start Of Me And You! It’s totally your kind of book. When we collided is good but iffy in the beginning but I think you’ll still like it. Stay far away from wink poppy midnight. Just stay far away. It’s not worth it 😂

      Like

  2. Valerie says:

    I had no idea that Lemony Snicket himself recorded his own audiobooks. And also I was SO CONFUSED with Wink Poppy Midnight, I honestly did NOT get what the point was to the book. Nope.

    Glad you had a great April! I’m falling very much behind on my GR challenge, so I’m trying very hard to catch up, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

