Review: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

13624688.jpg

In this fable, the first man on earth to count the hours becomes Father Time.

The inventor of the world’s first clock is punished for trying to measure God’s greatest gift. He is banished to a cave for centuries and forced to listen to the voices of all who come after him seeking more days, more years. Eventually, with his soul nearly broken, Father Time is granted his freedom, along with a magical hourglass and a mission: a chance to redeem himself by teaching two earthly people the true meaning of time.

He returns to our world – now dominated by the hour-counting he so innocently began – and commences a journey with two unlikely partners: one a teenage girl who is about to give up on life, the other a wealthy old businessman who wants to live forever. To save himself, he must save them both. And stop the world to do so.

Goodreads

This book has been on my TBR for the longest time but recently, one of my friends (that term is used loosely here because I have yet to forgive him for this crime) went through my Kindle library, saw The Time Keeper and proceeded to spoil the entire book for me. And he didn’t just spoil it a little. He spoiled it a lot. So I decided that since it was a short and highly raved about book, I might as well just read it and move on. So here we go.

Plot

The story flowed very well. It did jump years very frequently in the beginning but I think that added to the beauty of the entire novel. I  thought the way everything just flowed together was so wonderful and perfect. The story was believable and just so beautiful.

Characters

Sarah Lemon

Sarah was a  very lovely character that I actually related to a lot. She was in love with the popular boy who just so happened to be a complete and utter piece of trash. I loved her character and I thought that she was someone that many girls can relate to. I mean everyone has had a crush on the popular boy. That’s just like a thing that everyone goes through right? It’s a rite of passage. Anyway, I just felt so bad for her. I mean I’ve experienced every single emotion she felt over the course of this book and I can tell you that it really sucks. So props to Mitch for being able to capture the essence of every teenage girl’s struggle even though he is clearly niether female nor a teenager.

Victor Delmonte

I didn’t want to like Victor. I mean girls have to stick together right? And the way he treated Grace was just so awful. But for some reason, he wormed his way into my heart by the end of the novel. I mean we all want to live forever. We all want to be immortal. No one wants to have to grow old and die. So even though I hated him for most of the novel, Victor in the end turned out to be an excellent character who I thought was very well developed even in the short time that he was given.

Overall

I really enjoyed this book. It was such a beautiful read and it really made me think about time in a whole new way. There were many beautiful things that I could quote and say but in essence, you just really need to read this book. I don’t care how old or young you are. I don’t care what genre you are used to. Just read this book. It’s beautiful and it will make you cry and think and appreciate every little thing in your life.

My-Rating-5-Stars

blog_signature

3 thoughts on “Review: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

Leave a Reply

