Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

23197843.jpg

Hadley St. Clair’s life changed the day she came home to a front door covered in slips of paper, each of them revealing the ugly truth about her father. Now as her family falls apart in the wake of his year-long affair, Hadley wants everyone-her dad most of all-to leave her alone.

Then she meets Sam Bennett, a cute new boy who inexplicably “feels like home” to Hadley. Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret about his family that could ruin everything.

Publish Date: 23rd May 2016

Goodreads

I didn’t expect to like this book at all. I mean its the same old thing. Boy meets girl, Boy and girl fall in love, boy and girl fight about some stupid thing that happened before they met (because of course there’s a tragic backstory) and the boy and girl realise that they are sole mates and live happily ever after.

It’s just so damn predictable.

However there was an element in this story that was so powerful that it was able to jack a pretty meh 3 stars right up to a 4. And that element was the cheating.

Cheating for me is a chord. It’s one of my sore spots. When I was 10, something pretty major happened in our family that involved me to a large extent. For 19 years since then, I have never felt right about it. I’ve always known in the back of my mind that 10 year old me opened up not a can or worms but a can of freaking scorpions.

I never ended up knowing what exactly happened when I was 10. It’s been 19 years and I’ve never learned the truth but somehow, my family turned into a carbon copy of Hadley’s and it just never ended.

Hadley and Sam’s love story was one that started out being very typical but it morphed into something so much more.

It became something about how much the choices of a parent can alter our lives. How the reaction of our parents to certain situations can make or break us.

I found myself relating to so much in the story. There were quotes that I found myself just staring at and tasting in my mouth because they were so familiar. Because I have thought the exact same things over and over again over the years.

I don’t have much else to say about it. I mean the story honestly wasn’t remarkable. It was your typical clichéd love story and nothing I say can change that.

If you like these kinds of predictable contemporary books, give it a go. If you come from a broken family, this book may stab you in the heart just a bit. It’s a very touch and go kind of book. I liked it and I thought it was good even though it was predictable.

*A copy of this book was given to me to read and review by the publishers*

My-Rating-4-Stars

blog_signature

2 thoughts on “Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

    • camilliadass says:

      Very true! It’s confusing when the book seems pretty meh but you just resonate so much with it that you can’t give it a bad rating even if you tried. But give it a go. It’s worth it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

