Review: Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire

25526296[1].jpg

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Published: 5th April 2016

Goodreads

This was an odd little book that I was for some reason really excited to read mostly because every single person that read it maxed out the ratings on it. So I requested it and I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of the book. Yay!

Plot

Every Heart A Doorway had a very unusual plot that just seemed to work. While it is true that many people like to remix fairytales, very few people do it the way Seanan did.

I really enjoyed the complex storyline and I thought that it was appropriately dark. That said though, it read a lot like Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. I found a lot of the dynamics to be quite similar and a lot of the storyline seemed to  have bits that were taken straight off its pages.

Characters

Nancy

“You’re nobody’s doorway but your own, and the only one who gets to tell you how your story ends is you.”

Nancy is a hard character to analyze mainly because even though she was the main character, she didn’t do much that was notable. She was very unlike a main character and for some reason, ended up not being the star of the novel. I suppose it’s another way that Seanan tried to make her novel unique but it did end up being that Nancy just seemed irrelevant. I would have much rather got to see the novel from the point of view of Kade or the twins.

Kade

Kade’s smile was fleeting. “I never did like to leave a story unfinished.”

Kade was just one of those characters that you can’t help but love. He was that sweet boy that everyone has a crush on because he’s so mellow and so unintentionally beautiful.

What I thought was interesting about his character though was the fact that he was transgender. Now I will unapologetically tell you that I don’t particularly approve of transgenders. I don’t hate them and I’ll never say a bad word against them but their lifestyle just isn’t for me.

However I did find it very interesting that Seanan included a transgender character in her novel which was essentially about fairytales. I thought that it was a very forward way of taking her story and Kade’s sexuality was not shoved down anyone’s throat which was a very nice and gentle way of appealing to both schools of thought.

Jack & Jill

“We went down, and at the bottom there was a door, and on the door there was a sign. Two words. ‘Be Sure.’ Sure of what? We were twelve, we weren’t sure of anything. So we went through.”

I’m going to do the twins together because I just always thought of them as being one in a way. I didn’t like these two characters as much as I wanted to mainly because they were both girls. Jacqueline and Jillian. I often found myself thinking of Jack as a boy and that irritated me a lot. Other then that though, I did enjoy them and their dynamics. I thought that they were very creepy which was a nice change from how we usually think of Jack and Jill.

Overall

Overall I really enjoyed this novel. In a way I think I hyped it up too much in my head and that’s why it felt a bit disappointing when I read it and it didn’t impact me the way I wanted it to. I was also not too pleased about the fact that there were no epic twists and turns. I really expected there to be one at the end but nope. Nada. I guess it was a very good novel but did fall short in certain aspects and that’s why it lost one star from me.

*A copy of this book was given to me to read and review by the publishers*

My-Rating-4-Stars

blog_signature

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Leave a Reply

