Unboxing: Carpe Librum’s Magic Box

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Hey guys! So a little while ago, I found out that there was a couple of wonderful ladies in Singapore who had decided that they, like the rest of us on this island, were tired of seeing other countries have amazing book subscription boxes while we had to either pay exorbitant shipping prices or simply have no way of getting it because international shipping wasn’t an option.

So unlike the rest of us, these women decided to do something about it and thus, the wonderful Carpe Librum was formed.

Carpe Librum is a bi-monthly book subscription service that costs $35 (including local shipping) and comes with a paperback novel and about five other little bookish goodies.

Last week, my box was delivered and today I’m going to be unboxing it for you. I decided to wait a week mainly because I know some people didn’t get their boxes last week and I didn’t want to be the one to spoil it so I’m really excited to be finally getting to do it.

This month, their theme is ‘Magic’ and everything in it was related to that theme (of course). So here’s what the box looked like in all it’s glory. It came with blue ruffly truffly paper which I thought was super cute and of course, each box had our names printed on the top in beautiful writing which was such a wonderful touch.

Childhood friends Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead didn’t expect to see each other again, after parting ways under mysterious circumstances during high school. After all, the development of magical powers and the invention of a two-second time machine could hardly fail to alarm one’s peers and families.

But now they’re both adults, living in the hipster mecca San Francisco, and the planet is falling apart around them. Laurence is an engineering genius who’s working with a group that aims to avert catastrophic breakdown through technological intervention into the changing global climate. Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, the hidden academy for the world’s magically gifted, and works with a small band of other magicians to secretly repair the world’s ever-growing ailments. Little do they realise that something bigger than either of them, something begun years ago in their youth, is determined to bring them together–to either save the world, or plunge it into a new dark ages.

Goodreads

I have actually never heard of this book before which was completely fine by me because I love finding new books and reading stuff that I might never have picked up if it wasn’t quite literally shoved into my hands.

I will be getting to this book as soon as I can and I will do a full review on it when I’m done.

This is a Snape stamp that was made specially by Baisimu for this box. It was added into the mix in memory of Alan Rickman and I absolutely love it. It comes with a little ink pad and it’s such a cute little stamp. My only problem is that I don’t really know when I’m going to get a chance to use it because I’m not a very arts and craft kind of person.

This was probably my favourite thing in the whole box. It’s a little bracelet with a charm that has a crescent moon and a fairy sitting on it. It is honestly just so gorgeous and you can literally wear it with anything. My only issue is that I have tiny wrists and this bracelet is huge on me. A clasp so we could adjust the size might have been better but I really don’t mind too much. It’s just too gorgeous.

In the box, there were two cards with quotes on them. They were both designed by Doodle It Write and I thought that they were so adorable. I have put both of them on my bookshelves and I adore how much it brightens it up.

This was probably my least favourite item in the whole box. It’s a little button with a quote by Albus Dumbledore on it. Don’t get me wrong, I love the quote. I just didn’t like how the button was designed. The background makes the words hard to read and the whole thing just looks a bit crowded. That said though, I’ve put it on my shelves. It’s right on top of my Harry Potter books and it looks pretty good there.

Overall I absolutely loved the box. Everything was just so on point and wonderful. I will certainly be getting the next box which a little birdy told me is going to be announced really soon. I simply can’t wait to see what they come up with next.

If you’re a book lover in Singapore, please please please do support them. They are such lovely people and they really are so accommodating and efficient. Also we need to support the bookish culture in Singapore. Everyone of us knows that Singapore isn’t as good as it should be when it comes to all things book related and so we really need to band together to support the little that we have.

To find out more about them or to purchase a box, you can visit them on their Instagram page which is @carpelibrumsg or their Facebook at Carpe Librum SG.

blog_signature

 

2 thoughts on “Unboxing: Carpe Librum’s Magic Box

Leave a Reply

