Top 5 Books That Will Make You Cry

When it comes to books that make you cry, I am considered the queen. In fact, my bookclub friends are actually afraid when I give them recommendations because they know that most of my recommendations are guaranteed to make them cry. It’s gotten so bad that Mel has actually made it a rule that I’m only allowed to recommend one book to her a month.

I really don’t know what it is with me. I just really love books that make me ugly cry and that make my heart ache. I’m weird like that. Sue me.

So I think I am very qualified to give you my top 5 books that have made me cry in case you’re weird like me and love a little bit of emotion in your books.

1. The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah

21853621

If by now you haven’t figured out that The Nightingale is a major cry fest, I literally do not know what you are doing with your life. This book will make you bawl your eyes out. It will make your heart hurt. It will make everything in you hurt. But it is also one of the most informative, heartwarming and beautiful novels I have ever read in my life. So really I do recommend that you read it. Just not in public.

 

2. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15795357.jpg

I know some people have mixed feelings about this book but I personally loved it. I related so much to Eleanor who was so out of place and Park who was just trying to get by. I loved the both of them and the ending just broke my heart right in two. I remember I had a serious book hangover after this one and I just felt ready to die with how the ending made me feel.

 

3. Everything I Never Told You  by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123.jpg

This Is Where It Ends is essentially a novel about a school shooting. I have actually read a number of novels on school shootings before and I have to say that this was probably the most heartbreaking. The author just does such a good job that you feel every death reverberate through you and create cracks in your heart. It was honestly such a painful but necessary read especially in this day and age where school shootings have unfortunately become quite common.

 

4. Life On The Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

1364732-1.jpg

I actually read this book while standing in the bookstore. It was a very short read and so that’s why I could read it so quick but it was so powerful. So this book is told through notes that are exchanged by a mom and her daughter. So everyday, they will keep each other updated on grocery lists, little daily things and even apologies by posting a note on the refrigerator door. This is mainly because they are so incredibly busy that they have no time to talk. What makes the book sad, and this is not a spoiler, is the fact that the mom gets cancer. I think you already know how this plays out and let me just say that it broke my heart in two and I was standing in that bookstore just trying not to cry but failing miserably.

 

5. Wonder by R.J. Palacio

23302416.jpg

If you’ve ever been bullied, or have had struggles with your self-esteem, or basically if you are human, you will find that it is almost impossible not to cry while reading this book. Auggie’s struggle with his self-esteem and the merciless bullying from his peers will just make you want  to hug him and never ever let go. I have honestly never read a book that I relate to as much as this one.

So there you have it. My top 5 books that have made me cry. Honestly, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with liking books and movies that make you feel horrible things. If anything it makes you a better person for being able to access these feelings that you might otherwise suppress. You’re not crazy for liking upsetting books.

P.S. I have decided to start a posting schedule of Mondays and Fridays. I think it’s quite a good number to start with. If I’m able to stick with this, I might up it to 3 times a week but for now, I’m going with twice a week and I’ll see how it goes. Do give me your feedback on the days that I have chosen so that I can improve on it if I have to. I’m still not sure if the days are spread too far apart. Also don’t hate me too much if I have to miss a post sometimes. I am still working full-time (by the way I love my job!).

 

blog_signature

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. melissaverasr says:

    Oh, look at you! spreading the sadness!! x’D Love seeing Wonder in the list. My baby ♥ I was crying the whole time and I loving it the whole time, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

