Starting My Internship

DSC_0275.jpg

When I was about 14, I, like pretty much everyone my age, started planning what I would do once I finished my GCE O’Levels. I was actually one of those annoying people that had their lives figured out at age 10. Yup. I’ve known that I wanted to write as a career ever since I was 10 years old and I actually started making that possible from that age.

A lot of you don’t know this but I actually wrote a book  when I was 10 and it was published by the Young Authors Club. It was called ‘Abandoned In A Haunted House’ and I’m sure you can tell just from the title that it was literally the worst thing I have ever come up with in my life. I still ask my parents every now and then why in the hell they allowed me to publish it.

But I digress.

See when I was 14 and scouring school websites for their courses and their course structures, the one thing that I always saw was the internships that happened when you were in year 3. And I was actually most excited for that part of my education. I was excited at the prospect that I would one day be attached to a company and I would actually get to experience the working life.

However, it seemed so far away. It seemed like it was eons away. I was 14. The prospect of being a year 3 student that was about to get her diploma seemed as unlikely as my prospects of actually doing well enough in my O Levels to get into these elusive courses.

But God was with me and by some miraculous miracle, I did well enough to have the world laid at my feet. I was able to get into Mass Communications in Ngee Ann Polytechnic. A course that I had previously never even considered because the grades to get into it seemed impossible for me.

And from that point, life seemed to press the fast forward button. In a blink an eye, 2 years have gone by and I am now on the cusp of becoming a year 3 student. Tomorrow I will be starting my 6 month long internship. Oh how 14 year old me would swoon if she could see me now.

I can’t believe it honestly. I really can’t. Tomorrow I am going to enter the working world. Tomorrow I will have a boss. I will work in an office and I will get a salary every month. Tomorrow I start a new chapter in my life.

I’m really excited to start working at Youth.Sg but I’m also really nervous. I have worked before but never like this. It’s always been at my church or with a church friend or someone I know and I’ve never had set working hours and things like that.

I am very anxious and I really don’t know what to expect. Part of me just wishes that time would hurry up so that I can start already and start to form a routine. I thrive on routines and new things scare me to death.

So yeah. Tomorrow is the first day of a new chapter in my life. Tomorrow I become everything that 14 year old Camillia desired and admired.

I also just wanted to let you guys know that my posting schedule is going to change. I know that over the last 2 weeks I’ve been posting every weekday and I’ve been very active on social media and everything. That is going to change but I don’t know by how much.

I will take the coming week to see how things go and to see what I can commit to with regards to blogging and even reading but I can’t be blogging everyday. At my job I’m going to be writing on an online platform as well so I don’t know how I’m going to feel and how things will be. That said though, I have written and scheduled a few posts to go up and so I won’t completely vanish.

I just want to be able to create a healthy balance between blogging and reading and my job. I don’t want to stress myself too much with my blog right now because my job has to take #1 priority. I mean it’s 22 credits and I need to go to my dream university. It’s a very big deal.

So that’s that. I just wanted to give you guys an update on my life. I’m sure that I will be doing a post on how the intern life is once I get settled.

I don’t really know how to end this. I feel like its so final you know? Like even though it’s nothing close to it, I feel like I’m stepping off into this deep dark void and I don’t know how much my life is going to change with my job and I worry about that so much.

Anyway, I have a tag going up tomorrow and it’s a really fun one so till then, keep smiling and be happy. I love you all lots.

blog_signature

 

7 thoughts on “Starting My Internship

Leave a Reply

