Top 10 Books I’d Want On A Deserted Island

Hi guys, so today is Tuesday and we all know what happens on Tuesdays. Every book blogger ever does a Top 10 Tuesday post.

I have never been part of this. I have never participated in any of the weekly memes actually. I don’t really know why but I just have never done it. So today I thought it would be cool if I tried one of The Broke & Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday prompts. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the topic they had for today and so I decided to poke around in their archives and I found this old topic that I knew I wanted to do.

So today I’m going to be giving you guys a list of 10 books that I’d want with me if I was stranded on a deserted island.

  1. The Secret Island by Enid Blyton

75003.jpg

This book was the book for me. I was a very imaginative child (though let’s face it, I still live with my head in a different place most of the time) and I daydreamed a lot. One of the main themes that ran in the stories that I came up with was the idea of running away and using nature to  survive and live. So when I discovered The Secret Island, which is essentially a book where 4 kids run away and live on an island and build a house, a mini farm and pantry and everything, I fell in love with it instantly.

This book would be an essential one if I was ever stuck on an island because the kids are extremely resourceful. If I were stranded, I would need to survive and survive is what these kids did. I could probably try (and fail) to copy some of the things they did and hopefully attempt to live comfortably.

2. On The Island by Tracy Garvis-Graves

15505346.jpg

This book was similar to The Secret Island in that it tells the story of two young adults who get stranded on an island and they have to make do with what little they have to survive. I loved this book. In fact it’s one of my absolute favourites because I love islands and I love island romances. Anyway, this book was a slightly more accurate portrayal of how to survive if you’ve been stranded on an island and I bet I could pick up some tips. Of course if I was alone I would probably be doomed because I’m useless at survival (I wasn’t a very good girl guide) but I could try.

3. The Martian by Andy Weir

18007564.jpg

You guys know that The Martian was one of my top reads of my whole life pretty much and so I think it would be nice to be able to reread this one while I myself am stuck not on Mars but on a deserted island where I will probably slowly die because I’m too busy reading to do anything about surviving.

4. A Court Of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824.jpg

Besides The Little Mermaid, Beauty and The Beast was one of my absolute favourite Disney movies and I love retellings of this story. A Court Of Thorns and Roses was one of the best retellings I’ve read in a very long time. I absolutely loved it and I would love to be immersed in that world again (2 more months till the next book guys omg!!)

Also I’m going to be meeting Sarah at her book signing this week and I couldn’t be more excited!

5. An Ember In The Ashes by Saaba Tahir

20560137.jpg

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this book. I loved the romance and the action and the world and EVERYTHING! All I can say is that if I’m going to be stranded, I hope it’s in August so I can have the second book as well to accompany me in my slow death.

6. The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah

21853621.jpg

Do I even need to explain this book? I mean if I could only have 1 book with me on that damn island, it would be this one hands down. No competition at all.

7. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

15753740.jpg

I love Jodi Picoult and I have read every single book by her but The Storyteller has been my absolute favourite so far. It’s historical fiction and it made me cry. Two things that are sure to make a book my favourite.

8. The Life Intended by Kristin Harmel

21412412-2.jpg

I remember that I got an arc of this book in 2014 and I wrote in my review that I cried exactly 3 times over it. I also remember that I had a horrible book hangover after I was done with it. I would love to have that if I had to be stuck on an island. Plus, if I only have ten books, I’m bound to start re rereading if I haven’t already died and everyone knows that the best cure for a book hangover is to reread the book that caused it!

9. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

19-400.jpg

This book is basically about a school shooting and we get a lot of different perspectives as is usual with Jodi’s books and I thought it was just excellently done and I would love to read it again because FEELS.

10. House Rules by Jodi Picoult

7924837.jpg

Jodi’s my favourite author guys. I can’t help it that most of my list if made up of her books. House Rules was one of my favourite books by Jodi. Also it’s a very thick book and is bound to keep me entertained for a good amount of time.

Okay there we go. 10 books that I would have with me on a deserted island. Though let’s face it. I’ll probably be dead before I get to the 5th book because I’m just useless at life. But I mean, if I had food and water and shelter and wifi, I actually wouldn’t mind being stuck on an island. I mean how cool would it be to have all the time in the world to read and no annoying humans there to bother you or make you participate in this thing called real life. Ugh. Real life. Gross.

Let me know in the comments what books you would have with you if you were stuck on a deserted island!

blog_signature

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I’d Want On A Deserted Island

Leave a Reply

