(Late) February Wrap Up

Hi guys! Okay so I know that it’s already been a week into March but I wanted to just do a quick February reading wrap up for you for two reason. Firstly, I have no idea what else to post today (I’m not an idea machine you know) and secondly, I know I haven’t done a wrap up in ages and I just miss doing them.

So February was a horrible reading month for me. I had loads of final assignments and exams and because of that, I struggled a lot with keeping up with my reading and so that’s why I only managed a miserable 3 books (I should be reading 8 books a month). I am honestly so disappointed with myself because I had a momentum going and I was reading 11 books every month consecutively so this is really awful. But anyway, that’s what it is so I thought I would quickly wrap up my reading for February with you guys.

25467698.jpg

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.

Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Goodreads

I didn’t get a chance to review this book this month but I absolutely loved it. I loved the world that was built in this book and I loved just how it was told. I’ve never really read many books on time travel and so this book was something new for me but I have to say that I thought it was excellent.

My favourite parts of the book was when Grandma told Natalie all her old stories and folklore. The stories were very impactful and even as a reader, you can totally relate to the life lessons that Grandma is trying to impart to Natalie.

I also just loved the poetic and magical way the story was told. I was totally immersed in the world.

Overall, I thought the book  was done excellently and I just really loved how it ended. I thought it was such a powerful book.

My-Rating-5-Stars

17371024.jpg

More than anything, Joel wants to be a Rithmatist. Rithmatists have the power to infuse life into two-dimensional figures known as Chalklings. Rithmatists are humanity’s only defense against the Wild Chalklings. Having nearly overrun the territory of Nebrask, the Wild Chalklings now threaten all of the American Isles.

As the son of a lowly chalkmaker at Armedius Academy, Joel can only watch as Rithmatist students learn the magical art that he would do anything to practice. Then students start disappearing—kidnapped from their rooms at night, leaving trails of blood. Assigned to help the professor who is investigating the crimes, Joel and his friend Melody find themselves on the trail of an unexpected discovery—one that will change Rithmatics—and their world—forever.

Goodreads

This book was the Rainbow Bookclub’s book of the month and it was also my first Brandon Sanderson read. I ended up really enjoying this book and I am even more excited about reading Mistborn now.

I actually did a full review of this book last week so you can check it out here

My-Rating-4-Stars

26365537.jpg

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels. Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On, and is part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day.

Goodreads

This was just a short story that I finished very quickly and thoroughly enjoyed. As usual, I fell in love with Rainbow’s writing style and her honest portrayal of her young characters. I thought this book was amazing.

I did a full review of this on World Book Day and you can check that out here.

My-Rating-5-Stars

So that’s all I read in the month of February. I didn’t read a lot but I’m glad that the 3 books I read all had 4-5 stars. Hopefully I’ll be able to do better this month.

P.S. I spent the whole day emptying my entire closet and reorganising and throwing out stuff and I am dead tired and I really don’t know why I’m telling you this because it has no relevance to this wrap up at all but I just wanted to tell someone and maybe I’m going a bit crazy because I was on my feet all day. Okay I’ll stop now.

blog_signature

Leave a Reply

