Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

26365537.jpg

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’ 
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

Goodreads

Happy World Book Day!! Today is World Book Day! How exciting! It’s literally our day guys!

Okay so for World Book Day, a couple of authors released short stories and they are selling them for $1. And what happens is that all kids in UK schools get a little token which will give them $1 off any book or audiobook in the UK. So they can choose to purchase a story that was put out just for World Book Day or they could spend it on any other book that they have been wanting.

Honestly I think it’s such a cool idea and I really wish there was something like this in Singapore. So many kids nowadays don’t care about books anymore. In Singapore, it’s usually because these kids are too busy with their assessment books and tuition. I’m not kidding. All our bookstores have massive sections for assessment books and textbooks and people flock there. As in the fiction section is close to empty and the assessment side is full. People go to bookstores here for math and science books. Not for the joy of holding a beautiful hardback or stocking up on the latest release. It’s scary.

giphy-1.gif

Which is why we need a World Book Day in Singapore and we need to have a day in our year where we can go to school dressed as our favourite book character. I mean honestly. How fun is that? I used to get so jealous when I went online and saw pictures of kids in their costumes and we just had our boring uniforms and 2 hour math classes (kill me).

Anyway, I was super excited to find out that Rainbow Rowell decided to contribute her brilliance to this year’s World Book Day collection and I immediately got my hands on Kindred Spirits when it was published.

So before I go further, I would just like to put it out there that this story was honestly something that I would never have picked up if Rainbow’s name hadn’t been on the cover. I mean I really don’t care about Star Wars. I’ve never watched the movies and I can’t be bothered to. I don’t understand the hype. I respect the people that are passionate about it but I do not care.

giphy.gif

So the book follows 18 year old Elena as she joins her first line. She has planned to camped outside her local cinema for 4 days so that she can not only be one of the first people to watch the movie but also so that she can spend 4 days with hordes of people who are all as passionate about the series as she is. I mean she was practically a baby when the first few movies came out and she’s seen pictures of the hordes of people that line up outside the theatre for days before the movie is released. They are usually all in costume and having a grand old time. So she’s excited even though her mom thinks that it is a supremely bad idea.

So Elena shows up and to her dismay, she finds out that there are only two other people besides her who are queuing up and neither of them are in costume. So then, we are taken through the four days that Elena spends out on the street with these two guys.

Now I’ve always thought that lines were amazing. I mean imagine the physical and mental strength it takes to do that. In fact, I’ve wanted to try an Apple line ever since I saw iJustine’s vlog on the few days she did the Apple line to be the first to get the new iPhone. I always thought it was cool but realistically, I’ll probably never do that because I have the smallest bladder in the world and I don’t like the sun.

So this book was just a very revealing insight into a what it takes to be part of a line. I just really loved the friendship, the comradeship and just the passion that these three characters had for Star Wars.

One of my favourite things about Rainbow Rowell is her ability to write realistic characters. Rainbow is a genius at writing people that most people can relate to in some way. Elena was no different. I mean she was innocent, scared and she had a mom who drove by the line about 10 times a day. I just felt like I could relate to her so well and I loved that.

At the end of the book, I felt like I had just spent four days in a line. I just felt that kind of warm and happy feeling of accomplishment even though I did absolutely nothing.

So yes, I would completely recommend this little short story. You can read it in an hour and it’s honestly such a great read. Go get it!

My-Rating-5-Stars

blog_signature

One thought on “Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

