Don’ts When Emailing A Book Blogger

donts-when-emailing

I feel like it’s been the longest time since I’ve done a good ole how-to post. So I decided that today would be a good day to put out part one of this two part series that I have decided to do.

Now as a book blogger, I receive countless numbers of emails from authors asking for reviews, spotlights, features and more. I have really seen quite a variety of email styles and because of that, I feel quite qualified to sit here and walk you through 5 dos and 5 don’ts when it comes to emailing a book blogger. So I’m going to start with the don’ts and then tomorrow I will be putting out a post on the Dos.

I would also just like to point out that while it is true that my preferences may not be the preferences of another blogger, I have made the effort to make these points quite general. Also, I am not here to blacklist any authors or make fun of them. I just feel that many authors that email bloggers are usually debut or self-published authors and many of them may not be familiar with the book blogging community. So really this is just a guide to help authors craft better emails and to help them get the attention of said book blogger.

  1. Misspell their name/ Not include their name

This is one of the most important points. A person’s name is very important and it has been proven that when making friends or forming a relationship with a person, it greatly helps if you mention their name every now and then because it instantly creates that connection.

Now I have a name that very few people seem to be able to spell. I don’t know why but for some reason, people just like to mutilate my name. However if you are trying to pitch your book to someone, you better find out their name and spell it correctly. It’s basic respect. You spell my name right and I’ll spell yours right.

Also, I know many authors like to send mass emails out to like every blogger ever. Don’t do that. I mean I know it means that you end up spending more time but you are asking for a favour here. You aren’t paying me most of the time. So take some time to address me and make me feel like I’m important. I’m actually less likely to accept a request if I know that the person has just sent out the same email to 50 other bloggers. Because that instantly tells me that I am not important and that if I say no, it won’t matter because there are 49 other bloggers there to say yes.

2. Demand anything/ Be pushy or rude

As I mentioned before, you aren’t paying me. A lot of authors believe that by giving us a free book, that is payment enough. It’s not. A book doesn’t pay bills. A book is the smallest fraction of what advertising and public relation teams get paid for doing the exact same thing. So be polite and don’t be difficult. Obviously I’m not asking you to bend over backwards to please a blogger. I’m just asking you to be respectful of the fact that blogging most likely is not their job and that if they don’t have the time to get to your book or if they cannot commit with a solid time frame, accept it or pay them for expedited reviews. Be nice and kind and usually the blogger will be nice and kind too. We are a very nice community and we want to like you.

3. Forget to include the title and synopsis of your book

I recently had an author who emailed me asking me to review her book and in the whole entire email, there was not one single mention of the title of the book or even a hint of what it was about. I just got a very vague genre hint. She included a link to her website at the bottom of the email and I went into her website only to find that I had to hunt for her upcoming release (she had published a few books already). It was overall very time consuming and irritating.

Now why would anyone think that that is okay. I mean I don’t have time to accept every book that is pitched to me so I need to know what I’m getting into before I get into it. Don’t start pitching books if you aren’t ready to release information like the synopsis, the title and perhaps a short extract. If you can’t release this stuff, the book isn’t ready to be pitched. It’s really quite simple.

4. Disregard their review policy

I have a review policy and so does pretty much every established book blogger. I have this review policy because I don’t read every genre that is published and my readers do not read every genre that is published. My review policy is important because it tells authors what I will say no to and it details what information I need in the initial pitch email for me to either accept or reject your book.

When you disregard my review policy and pitch me a book that is outside what I review or send me an email that is incomplete regarding the information I need, it shows me two things. One, that you are just trying your luck and that you really don’t care about the quality of the blogger that accepts your book. And two, that your book probably sucks because you can’t even be bothered to make sure that the bloggers that review it are of quality and are of your genre.

Read the policy. We don’t just put them up because we like to write extra stuff.

5. Ask me for my blog name

I hate it when this happens and honestly, this happens more then you would think. So many times, people pitch me books (usually these are the people that send mass emails to bloggers) and when I agree to review their book and arrange a review date, they then ask me to tell them the name of my blog. I mean seriously. Basically you are breaking every ‘Don’t’ that I have mentioned in this post. Find out about the blogger that you are asking to review your book. I mean at the very least know their blog name. Come on!

I hope you guys enjoyed these tips that I came up with. I know that this post is more catered towards authors and I’m sorry about that but email etiquette is something that has been bothering me for a while so I’m glad that I can finally share some of my gripes and hopefully improve the quality of author emails. I mean everything mentioned was inspired by emails that I have actually received so you can see why I might want to write this.

Tomorrow I will be putting out a post with 5 tips on what you should include or do with an email to a book blogger so look out for that. Till then, stay  happy!

 

blog_signature

4 thoughts on “Don’ts When Emailing A Book Blogger

  1. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    Yep, I totally agree – most of these things are just general courtesy to be honest!
    I actually have a question from you as a book blogger – do you usually respond to the review requests, and say that you can’t do it when you can’t? Because I’m never too sure if I should, or if that’s rude or something! :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

