How To Create New Year Resolutions

blogwords

Welcome to 2016! How has that happened so fast? Literally blinked and it was gone.

Today I want to talk to you about new year resolutions as well as to share a few of mine with you.

Now I’m sure every one of you has set some sort of new year resolution. Be it that you want to get fitter or that you want to read more or perhaps that you just want to be happier. But we all know what happens. You keep it up for a week or two then let yourself cheat on one day and that one day becomes two and then a week and then you just give up and decide to try again next year.

No.

Not this year.

I want to teach you guys how to properly make new years resolutions. Resolutions that you will keep.

Step 1: Don’t come up with an extravagant list

Keep your resolution list small. It helps you focus better on your ultimate goals and ensures that you don’t get sidetracked too easily.

Step 2:  Start small

If your goal is to ultimately start exercising more, start small. Don’t say that you’re going to go to the gym five times a week. Start really small. Start with once a week then move that up to two and three and so on. Same as if you want to start eating healthy. Start with one healthy meal a day or if you’re a fast food junkie, try limiting yourself to a meal like that once a week then once a month. Don’t immediately jump headfirst into no fast food for the rest of my life or no carbs forever and ever amen.

Setting small goals for yourself will help you achieve a routine and will ultimately help you to cultivate a habit. It also will help you to ease yourself into this new thing which actually does produce better results in the long run.

Remember, ultimate goals are not the same as resolutions. You can resolve to read 1 book a week and still reach your ultimate goal of reading 50 books a year. The idea is to take it slow.

Step 3: Find ways to reward yourself

Rewards are great motivators. And your reward could literally be anything. You could reward yourself with candy or if you’re like me, you could simply feel rewarded by seeing results. Do whatever you have to do to keep up with your habit.

Step 4: Don’t feel pressured to have resolutions

If you ask me, new year resolutions are overrated. I mean people put so much pressure on themselves to start a new year perfectly. But the thing is that you don’t need a new year to start fresh. In fact, I personally think that making up goals as you go is the way to do it. If one day you decide to drink more water, do it. Do it immediately. Don’t wait for tomorrow so that you can start on a clean slate. Don’t wait for this to happen or that to happen. Just dive in. That is really the only way to get anything done.

So if you’re racking your brains for a resolution, stop. You don’t need to have one. You don’t need to think of a new year as this big deal. It’s not really. Yes its a new year but really how different were you yesterday as compared to today? Resolutions are temporary. Work smart and create habits. Habits are what will see you through the year.

And I know that I have now bashed on having new year resolution but I have come up with a few of my own and I thought it would be nice to share.

  1. Everything happens for a reason so don’t be too upset if things don’t go your way.
  2. Remain happy 
  3. Be kinder then you have to be always
  4. Maintain the habits you created in 2015
  5. Excercise twice a week 
  6. Put in more effort into my blog posts

Well that’s it. My first blog post of 2016. I just wanted to say a massive thank you for sticking with me till 2016. I am so grateful for each and everyone of my readers and the friends I have made through this little space on the Internet. You know it doesn’t matter as much to me how many readers I have. I mean sure I want readers. But more then that I’m just glad that I have this avenue to share my thoughts and opinions about the things that I love.

So thank you for coming on this journey called life with me and I can’t wait to see what adventures we go on in 2016.

blog_signature

6 thoughts on “How To Create New Year Resolutions

  1. elyjayne says:

    I really like this post because I’m terrible at sticking to New Year Resolutions. Usually, they don’t even last the day. My problem is always number one—I want to do absolutely everything and then I totally stress myself out.

    #commenting365

    Like

    • camilliadass says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you found this helpful. I used to come up with huge lists of resolutions but i slowly realised that it wasn’t working because when you have too much to do, you never know where to start and you end up procrastinating and not doing it. Good luck with your resolutions!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. readwritelove28 says:

    I absolutely love this post! I completely agree with everything that you mentioned. It’s much better to keep the list small and build it as the year continues rather than overwhelming yourself from the start. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

