Goodreads Reading Challenge 2015 | Wrap-up

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 11.13.03 AM

It’s the last day of the year! We did it guys. We survived another 365 days. We have 365 days of new memories and experiences. We did it.

Today, if you didn’t know, is also my grandfather’s first death anniversary. I don’t really know how to commemorate that on my blog. I just wanted to mention it because that’s what today is and I do miss him a lot.

So today being the last day of the year, I thought I would give you guys a wrap up of my Goodreads Reading Challenge. So if you live under a rock and don’t know what the Goodreads Reading Challenge is, it is basically a feature on Goodreads that allows you to set a reading goal for yourself and then it helps you keep track of your progress and it will let you know if you are falling behind or if you are ahead.

This was my my first  year doing this challenge and I remember how hard it was for me to decide what my goal would be. I was sitting there with a calculator and Erica on messenger and I was doing the math. So if I set my goal for this many books in a year, it means that I would have to read this many books per month and this many per week.

giphy.gif

Eventually I was sort of pressured to set my reading goal to 100 books even though I had never in my life read so many books in one year. I decided to mainly because everyone on my Goodreads seemed to be setting it to 100 and I didn’t want to be the loser that didn’t.

So by my calculations, I had to read about 8 books a month and 2 books a week. I had no idea how I was going to do it.

The first 2 or 3 months were the worst. It was very rocky and I was not meeting my goals at all. I was getting quite disheartened actually every time I looked at my challenge and saw that I was 4 or 5 books behind on my challenge. In fact there was a time that I considered lowering it. But I decided that since it was a challenge after all, I would press on. It wasn’t until about March or April that I started to get into a momentum and I caught up with my challenge.

In June, we had two weeks of break and I used that time to read a lot. I managed to actually get ahead on my challenge for the first time. So I used that time to get ahead and then when school started,  I found that I had picked up an excellent momentum. I was reading more then I had ever read. I was constantly ahead on my challenges and that meant that if I ever had to slow down because of school, it was okay because I mean I was already ahead.

I reached my goal of 100 books on the 23rd of November and now that it is December, I can say very proudly that my total number of reads for 2015 is a whopping 114 books.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.40.25 AM

I am so proud of myself. This challenge to me wasn’t just about reading more. This challenge to me was about commitment and determination. This challenge signified everything I’ve ever strived to be. It may sound cheesy but its true. I never thought that I would be the type to be able to handle a challenge that lasted a whole year but somehow I did it.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 12.27.58 PMScreen Shot 2016-01-12 at 12.28.06 PMScreen Shot 2016-01-12 at 12.28.15 PM

Next year, I will be setting a goal of 100 books again because it’s my internship year and so for a good 6 months I may not have the best reading time available to me. I don’t want to stretch myself too thin and make this a chore. I will also be doing PopSugar’s 2016 reading challenge alongside my Goodreads one which I am very excited about because it will be my first year doing it. Every year is different and it comes with different challenges but I’m excited to plunge headfirst into it and know that my books are coming with me.

Let me know in the comments how many books you read this year and what your goal is for next year so we can all celebrate together. See you guys soon and I wish all of you a very happy new year!

 

blog_signature

 

9 thoughts on “Goodreads Reading Challenge 2015 | Wrap-up

  1. averyawkwardblogger says:

    WOW! I could never read 114 books in a year! I can’t believe how fast people can read, wow! You have a lot of commitment 😀 I am participating in Pop crush’s challenge as well, and I hope I’ll get to finish that. I really want to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

