19 Things I’ve Learnt At 19

Today’s my 19th birthday!!

tumblr_inline_nuuonp7LrA1rubdwx_500

I can’t believe how fast that has happened. I’m in my last year of being a teenager. Oh my god. That just really hit me. I’m getting old!

Anyway, I thought it would be fun if I gave you a list of 19 things that I have learnt from being alive for 19 years. Some of this stuff is cheesy but bear with me.

  1. Do what makes you happy. Life is too short to do stuff you don’t like.
  2. Stop worrying that people will judge you. Because they will judge you no matter what you do so why bother?
  3. Only when you stop caring about what other people think, can you truly achieve your full potential.
  4. It’s okay to have an ugly meltdown once in a while. Just remember to pick yourself back up after and bring the thunder when you go after whatever made you cry in the first place.
  5. Black blue tack should never never be used on a wall. Ever.
  6. Find a way to document your life. It goes by too quickly.
  7. Fully utilise every opportunity to pee.
  8. Don’t give a crap what anyone says about your lipstick. If you wanna wear the brightest red lip ever, girl you go and wear it. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.
  9. Sleep it off. Sleep makes everything better.
  10. Pinterest is just another site that makes you feel bad about your incapable self. Get off it. You don’t need that kind of negativity in your life.
  11. Everything in moderation aka it’s okay that you had that cupcake because at least you didn’t have a whole box of cupcakes right? Unless you did. Then I can’t help you.
  12. Everyone is dysfunctional. Everybody has their issues. So be kinder then you have to.
  13. Spend time with you grandparents. Take a thousand pictures of them. Do a little extra for them. It won’t mean much to you but it will mean the world to them.
  14. Family time should be placed above any work or school commitments. Work will always be there. Your family, on the other hand, won’t.
  15. Everything happens for a reason.
  16. Create routines for yourself. It will help keep you calmer and generally healthier and happier.
  17. Don’t put off what you can do today. You really never know what could happen tomorrow.
  18. People actually aren’t judging you as much as you think they are
  19. Caffeine, or any substance that is intended to keep you awake, is unhealthy and can amplify anxious feelings. Instead, establish a good sleeping routine for yourself and stick with it. A good night’s rest can do wonders for you (and I’m not just saying this because I hate coffee)

Well there you have it. 19 things that I’ve learnt in 19 years. I hope you enjoyed it. I also just wanted to say a massive thank you for all the birthday wishes and presents that I’ve received. I am truly grateful for all the people in my life and I couldn’t be happier that I get to spend the day with them.

I also can’t believe that I spent my entire 18th year on this blog. It seems weird that 365 days ago I put up a post about my 18th birthday. So thank you for being a part of my life. I honestly don’t know what I would do without you guys.

I’ve got a whole bunch of posts planned for the next few days so keep an eye out for that. Besides that, I wish you guys a very merry eve of Christmas eve! (yes that is a real thing)

 

blog_signature

 

4 thoughts on “19 Things I’ve Learnt At 19

Leave a Reply

