Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson

25365508

Hope lives in a small town with nothing to do and nowhere to go. With a drug addict for a brother, she focuses on the only thing that keeps her sane, writing poetry. To escape, she jumps at the chance to attend Ravenhurst Academy as a boarding student. She’ll even put up with the clique-ish Ravens if it means making a fresh start.

At first, Ravenhurst is better than Hope could have dreamed. She has a boyfriend and a cool roommate, and she might finally have found a place she can fit in. But can she trust her online boyfriend? And what can she do after her brother shows up at the school gates, desperate for help, and the Ravens turn on her? Trapped and unsure, Hope realizes that if she wants to save her brother, she has to save herself first. – Goodreads

*An advanced copy of this book was given to me by the publishers to read and review. However, all opinions are my own*

This little book popped up out of nowhere. I’ve never heard of Colleen Nelson and I obviously have never read any of her books. But one day I got an email saying that I got approved for this novel and I thought why not. I mean it was half the size of my usual novels, I had a readathon coming up and it actually looked quite interesting.

So the book is narrated from two point of views. We have Eric who is addicted to Meth and various drugs and who has been kicked out of his home and school because of it. Then we have Hope. Hope is Eric’s sister who is starting out at a new boarding school and who is trying to leave behind the stigma of having a drug addict for a brother.

So let’s start with the simpler narrator. Hope. I actually thought that I might like Hope. She seemed relatable and very much like she was a good kid that got handed a bad set of cards. But then she got infuriating. Now the book is a good 5 months away so I don’t want to give too much away but basically she gets in with the ‘mean girls’ of the school and they try to get her to do bad stuff to her roommate (think cutting her hair while she is asleep kind of bad). I’m not going to tell you what exactly happened with that but I knew from that moment that Hope was absolutely horrid.  I instantly hated her and nothing that she did from that point on mattered because I hated her with a vengeance. It might be because I was bullied as a kid but Hope was unforgivable.

Then we have Eric. Eric has a very sad backstory. His real dad died when he was very young and his mom remarried. Eric had a bright future until he was raped which is when he started his descent into drugs. Going into the who and when might be too much of a spoiler so I’ll hold back but the whole rape part just made me so incredibly upset. In the book, Eric mentions at one point that his rapist got to go on and have a wonderful life. He got to walk away unscathed. But for Eric, that one day ended his life. And that made me think a lot about rape in general. For one person, it’s a few minutes of ‘pleasure’ and dominance. Then they get to return to their lives. But for the victim, it’s a few minutes of hell. And then it doesn’t end. Those few minutes more often then not ruin a person’s whole life. I don’t know. I just never thought of it that way before and it made me so angry.

Now I have no tolerance for addicts who refuse to get help. I don’t care what you’re addicted to. I simply have no tolerance because addicts don’t just ruin their own lives. They ruin the lives of the people around them. And I think that’s just unforgivable. So it was very difficult to like Eric. He did a lot of horrid things and he was very unlikable. But at the same time, you think of what led him to where he is and you feel sorry for him. At times it was like Jekyll and Hyde.

The story as a whole was good. It was unique in that I’ve never read a book from the POV of a Meth addict. But it was also predictable. I saw a lot of the twists well before they happened and that was quite irritating because I could just see them digging themselves into a hole and I knew what was happening but the characters were just so dense. And I guess that’s why it lost 2 stars from me. I was just so angry throughout the book it was unreal.

Other then that though, it was an interesting and very quick read. It was honestly not bad. I mean I did enjoy it. It’s just that the characters did things that made me angry.

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

Date Of Publication: 12th April 2016

Leave a Reply

