I’ve Opened A Shop!

“Find a problem and solve it”. 

It’s always bothered me that when it comes to bookish merch, you always see the same things. It’s always Harry Potter, The Hunger Games and John Green. Always. It’s so hard to find merch from authors who may be lesser known or even who have books out that might be popular in the book community but who haven’t hit the bulk of people around the world just yet.

And it’s so sad. Because so many of these books have beautiful quotes and life changing storylines. So many of these books can beat out a John Green book in every way possible. But they just don’t have movies out. They just aren’t front and center in a bookstore. They just aren’t popular enough to warrant someone trying to make bookish merch about.

So I saw that problem and I decided to try and fix it. I did some research and found that for me, the best thing I could do would be to work with Redbubble. Redbubble is a beautiful site that allows designers to design whatever they want and then upload their designs to their website. You will then be given a space on Redbubble’s website for your shop. So you can control prices, what goes up and basically everything. And the best part? Redbubble handles your customers. Redbubble will put your designs on your t-shirts and cards and they will deal with the money and the shipping. Of course that does mean that you pay them a percentage of what you earn off of each sale but you have to admit. It’s a pretty good deal.

So I decided to start a shop on their site. I still am not too sure what I’m doing. I mean I’m no designer. I’ve studied photoshop and illustrator and I have done a lot of design in my course but I wouldn’t say I’m that great at it. So I really don’t know what I’m trying to do here. But all my life, I have believed that you just need to start. Doesn’t matter if you’re good at it or not. Doesn’t matter if you plan to stick to it or not. Just start. Because you’ll never have the opportunity to learn and fail and succeed if you never start.

So I am very proud to present to you my first book merch shop! I’m currently selling everything from stickers to throw pillows to t-shirts to cards and they all have quotes on them from amazing books. You can go over to see my full range. You also can sign up on Redbubble and follow my shop so that you will get informed whenever I put out a new design.

Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 3.02.53 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 3.03.20 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 3.03.51 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 3.04.09 PM

My designs are quite basic right now but I’m working on making them even better. I actually was waiting to put up more designs before I told you guys about it but then today I received my first sale and it was so amazing because I hadn’t even told anyone about my shop yet. I got so excited I nearly cried. So I decided that I had to tell you guys already because I didn’t want to keep it a secret anymore.

Rebubble has very reasonable prices and international shipping so I hope you guys can support me by going over and buying something even if it’s just a sticker. If you can’t, then I would love it if you simply followed my shop or if you told a friend who might be interested in my items.

I love you all very much. Thank you for helping me make this possible.

Find my shop here: http://www.redbubble.com/people/camilliadeborah/shop

xoxo

Leave a Reply

