Reading Slumps And How To Get Over Them

I have just had the most physically and mentally draining 2 weeks of my life and I am so happy to be finally out of it. So you may have noticed that I kind of disappeared for a while not only on this blog but also on Goodreads and my other social media. The reason was because I started school again as you guys know and I haven’t had the easiest time settling back in this time round. I was very stressed and anxious about the workload and my friends and I guess that led to me getting quite sick. So I guess with all that combined, it was no surprise that I fell into quite a bad reading slump.

So what exactly is a reading slump? Quite simply, it is quite possibly the two worst words in a book lover’s dictionary. Basically it is a period of time when you feel unmotivated to read and you feel awful because you aren’t reading and overall it’s just an horrid time. There isn’t really any particular reason why people fall into slumps because quite frankly anything can trigger one. It could be because you are reading a bad book or because you are reading too many books at once or simply because your life is in so much of a chaos that reading becomes something that feels like a bit of a chore for that period of time.

Whatever the reason however, we all want to get out of our slumps as soon as we possibly can so as a experienced slumper, I am here to bring you 3 tips to get over a slump as well as to share some of my favourite ‘get out of a slump’ books.

1) Stop reading

tumblr_no98ajdm5Q1ta09lpo1_500

What? I know. Stopping reading seems counterproductive doesn’t it? But you have to remember that sometimes you have to admit defeat and stop trying to resurrect a dead horse. If you’re struggling with reading and starting to get upset over the fact that you are reading slower, then its a sign that it’s time to put down the book and go do something else for a while. Now this may last a few hours or a few days. Go with the flow. It’s okay to stop reading for a few days. The world won’t cave in. When you stop reading, usually you’ll slowly find yourself starting to crave a book. When you feel that, go ahead and pick up a book and you’ll find that you will be on your way out of the slump.

2) Figure out what’s wrong

tumblr_nuc440Je2G1uv70x9o1_400

Sometimes it can be hard to see why exactly you are having a problem until you are out of it. But try to think. Think about what’s new in your life. Walk backwards and try to remember what you were reading when you starting having to re-read passages and when you started wishing you could be doing anything but reading. Identifying the problem is a very effective way to get yourself out of a slump.

For example, once I identified that my slump was caused by readjusting back to school and getting sick, I was able to see things a bit more clearly and it helped me bounce back much faster because I was able to separate the problems. It stopped being, “Oh I’m so unfocused and lazy and I should be ashamed of the fact that I’m choosing Youtube over a book.” and it became, “Okay. There are a lot of things happening in my life right now and it’s okay that I can’t read right now. When things calm down it will be better and I’ll be back to reading. It’s not me.”

3) Pick a light read 

tumblr_nvtjbxwVLg1sq9bgoo1_400

Everybody knows that when you’re in a slump, you usually need an awesome and epic book to drag you out. But I find that usually these epic books are rather thick and content heavy. Two things you don’t want when you’re in a slump. So stick to the light contemporary reads. The books that you know you will love. It doesn’t have to be epic but if it makes you laugh and it’s easy to read, it’s perfect.

Here are a couple of books I recommend for getting out of a slump:

  1. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Let’s be honest. I will never not recommend this)
  2. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  3. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
  4. On The Fence by Kasie West
  5. Carry On by Rainbow Rowel

Basically just read Rainbow Rowell and you’ll be good I promise. Rainbow is literally queen of the book world. If she can’t get you out of a slump, nothing will my friend.

I hope these tips helped you especially if you are currently in a reading slump. If you are in one, remember that it’s not a failure on your part. Everybody has these periods where they just can’t read no matter how hard they try.

I’ll see you guys soon!

Xoxo

2 thoughts on “Reading Slumps And How To Get Over Them

Leave a Reply

