September Wrap Up

Hello my fluffy muffins!

It’s that time again. That time where the month has just ended and I lament about how fast it went and then tell you that I once again didn’t stick to my TBR for the month and then give you some excuse that usually ends in, “I COULDNT HELP IT OKAY!”. Why do you guys even bother reading anymore?

Okay but seriously though. I set a ‘no new books in the kindle’ rule for this month and did I follow through with it? I’ll give you all of you who just shouted ‘NO!’ a cookie. It’s a large cookie because if you really just shouted, you’re probably getting weird looks right now.

So yeah, I lost track of how many books I added to my kindle this month. That’s how bad it was. Also you know how I told you all that this month I was going to 100% stick to my TBR because it was a holiday month and I wanted to clear my TBR shelf? Yeah well that…didn’t exactly go as planned either. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother with TBRs. Sigh.

ANYWAY, this is what I read in the month of September:

1)The Martian by Andy Weir

18007564

I don’t know how much more I can rave about this book without you guys getting annoyed at me haha.

So this book follows astronaut Mark Watney. Mark is part of a mission to Mars and one day, on Mars, there is a big storm and Mark get hit. His suit, the part which reports all his vitals, is stabbed through and because of that, his crew members think that he is dead. They also can’t find him in the storm and can’t stay very long to look because their spaceship is tipping and if they don’t leave immediately, they risk being stranded on Mars with basically a broken space ship. So they leave.

Mark, however, is very much not dead. So this book follows him as he tries to survive on a planet that cannot support life and that is basically trying to kill him at every turn. Of course, eventually NASA figures out that he is alive and then it becomes a mission to bring Mark home.

There are no words to tell you how much I adored this book. It fact it is in the running for one of my top books of 2015. I also saw the movie over the weekend and they did SUCH A GOOD JOB. I was blown away by how well it was done and I’m so glad that they didn’t ruin the beautiful image of this book with a crappy movie.

I filmed a review of this book earlier in September as well so you can check that out here. It’s very gushy not gonna lie.

My Rating: 5 Stars

2) Written In The Stars by Aisha Saeed

22521951

This book was one of those that I devoured over the course of one Sunday afternoon. It’s basically about how young girls in India are being forced into arranged marriages. Many times, against their will.

So this story follows a young Pakistani girl, Naila, who lives in America. She is a regular girl in every way except for the fact that her parents are super strict and traditional. Her parents rarely let her spend time with her friends. Especially boys. They have completely forbidden her from even befriending a boy. So imagine their horror when they find out that their daughter not only has a boyfriend but that he is from a family that has been shunned by the Pakistani-American community.

So Naila’s parents decide to cart her to her family home and village in Pakistan for a month to get her back to her roots and to let everything that happened settle down. Naila enjoys her month in Pakistan with her cousins and aunts and uncles. But she is desperate to return home to see her boyfriend and best friend. So when she finds out that her parents have no intention of letting her go home but rather want to marry her off to the highest bidder, she understandably freaks out to say the least.

This book is so powerful. I was crying and hurting so much for Naila. The issues brought up in this book are so real and they need to be talked about. Not enough people talk about the young girls that are shoved into unwanted marriages simply because the man is offering a good price. I really learnt a lot from this book. Not just about arranged marriages but also about Pakistani culture and food and their way of life. I’m Indian but I don’t know a thing about the culture having grown up in a very westernised household. So I really was plunged into a world that was so unfamiliar at first but that felt so special at the end. It’s so wonderful and the writing is so fluid. It’s perfect.

My Rating: 5 Stars

3) The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

 17315727

Everyone knows this book. I don’t need to tell you what it’s about. I actually wasn’t planning to even read this one but I saw the trailer and I couldn’t help myself. I ended up enjoying it so much. I loved the romance in this book and I think there was a very nice balance between action and love. I cried at one point. Though it did feel a lot like The Host which was annoying.

My Rating: 5 Stars

4) Percy Jackson And The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

4502507-1

Yes! I finally finished the Percy Jackson series! Honestly at this point I was just reading the book to finish the series because I was quite frankly bored of the world and the writing. I’m used to books with deeper writing styles. This was too superficial for my liking. But it is middle grade and I accept that I’m too old.

My Rating: 3 Stars

5) Memories by Lang Leav

25330489

This was an ‘in the bookshop’ read right after I picked up my new phone. I absolutely love Lang Leav. She’s my favourite poet and this new set of poems didn’t disappoint me.

My Rating: 5 Stars

6) Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling

23731881

This was read before I got my new phone haha. I read it in the same bookstore as Memories actually. It was a good speech but my problem with it was that I felt there was no need to turn it into a $25 book. I ranted about this on Goodreads so you can read that if you want.

My Rating: 2 Stars

7) The Weight Of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

20734002

I was given an advanced copy of this beautiful book by the publishers and I was so excited to read it.

The story follows a girl from the Paloma family and a boy from the Corbeau family. Both families have performances that they have been performing in for generations. Thing is, they hate each other with a vengeance because of a tragic accident that happened a few years ago. Both families pointed fingers at each other and then became sworn enemies. So one day, the girl and the boy meet. They initially do not not know who the other is but by the time both of them figure it out, they are too far in love to do anything about it.

This book is basically a kind of Romeo and Juliet story but it is told in such a special and magical way that you can’t even really compare it to Shakespeare. I thought that it was very much like a simpler version of The Night Circus. It was poetic and beautiful but not as confusing as The Night Circus. I totally fell in love with it.

My Rating: 5 Stars

8) The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

2118745

This book took me eons to finish. It’s a lot like The Chrysalids by John Wyndham which was the book I did for literature 2 years ago so that might explain why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to.

This book is set in a world where all men’s thoughts can be heard by everyone and all the women have their thoughts hidden. The book follows Todd, a boy from Prentisstown, Violet, a girl who fell out of the sky, and Todd’s dog that he didn’t want, Manchee as they try to escape and outrun the army that is chasing them.

It was good. Don’t get me wrong. It was just not really for me because I felt it was draggy and a little confusing at times. Like the book could have ended so many times but it just kept going on and on.

I rated it quite high though mainly because of darling Manchee. He was such a sweetheart and I cried buckets over him.
My Rating: 4 Stars

9) Vicious by V.E. Schwab13638125

And my final book for September! This book was honestly such a surprise. I bought it at a sale a few months ago and quite frankly I didn’t know much about it except that it was by V.E.Schwab who I really liked.

So I went in blind and I was completely surprised to find that the book was about EOs. I’m not going to tell you much about the story here though because the plot is very intricate and I actually think that for this book, it helps to go in blind.

I will say though that I loved this book. I loved the battle between good and evil and I loved that in the end, there wasn’t really a clear line anymore. I thought the ending was so satisfying and perfect. I honestly couldn’t have thought of a better ending.

By the way, did you hear that Vicious is probably getting a sequel? I know! I’m finding it hard to be excited though because I felt a lot of closure with it being a stand alone. Oh well. Let’s see what she does.

Well that’s all the books I read in the month of September. I’m hoping to do a lot more reading next month. I know I read quite little in September. That’s mainly because the Patrick Ness book took me a very long time to finish. Oh well. At least I’m still ahead on my reading challenge. 12 books to be exact. I’m very proud. Anyway, thank you for reading. Let me know in the comments what your favourite read for the month of September was and I’ll see you guys soon with another blog post.

xoxo

P.S. My sincerest apologies to anyone who visited my blog within the last 12 hours of me posting this. This post in particular went crazy and I lost 3/4 of the 1800 word post. I was devastated. Thankfully I managed to resolve it. So I’m sorry if my page was weird today.

Leave a Reply

