Holiday Reading Tips

IMG_2435

Hello there my chocolate cupcakes with extra sprinkles and icing (I think that’s the longest one yet guys!)

So just two days ago, I was told that we would be going to Bali for the coming week. Now I considered bringing my laptop because I couldn’t bear the thought of not being able to write and post for so long. But I decided that since I would already be vlogging and taking photos, I would give myself a week off and come back with loads of awesome footage and photos of the place. So I thought I would do one more post just before we leave and what better topic to do then the topic of holiday reading?

So I decided that today, literally 2 hours before we leave for the airport, I would give you some tips to maximise your holiday reading time as well as some holiday book suggestions.

1) Travel Time

I consider travel time to be the best time to read. Especially when I’m on a plane. So to start off, you need to plan your reading around the mode of transport you will be taking and your personal ability to read on different modes of transport. For example, I can’t read in a moving car (but I can usually read on a bus which is weird). But I can read on a plane. So you should be able to tell just how much you think you can read depending on how you are getting to a destination.

IMG_5016

The next thing you should do is plan to read a book that you can finish during your travel time. For example, if you’ve got a 2 hour flight to Bali, you might choose to read a book that would take you about 2 hours to finish. Or, if you are on an 18 hour flight to Seattle, you might decide to get a longer book or even two books if you’re feeling adventurous.

The key is not to overestimate yourself. Don’t push yourself. Remember that especially with long haul flights, your body clock will likely be very screwed up. I remember that when I was flying back to Singapore from Seattle, I crossed time zones and even completely lost the 2nd of April. I was also trying to finish ‘My Heart And Other Black Holes’ in the flight. I finished it. But I also barely remember anything because I was falling in and out of sleep and I was very disorientated. I pushed myself to read too much on that flight and ended up not even being able to remember the book. So pace yourself and take it slow. If you feel sleep coming on, let it happen. If you are itching to watch a movie (though let’s face it, airplane audio and video quality sucks anyway so why even bother) then go ahead. Don’t feel pressured to read. Go with the flow.

Books For Travelling:

  • To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (Highly Recommend)
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
  • Me, Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
  • Paper Towns by John Green

Basically any light contemporary will do for a trip. You mostly want to avoid high fantasy books or books that would require you to be 100% focused because you will be distracted and you don’t want to put yourself off the book without giving it a proper chance.

2) The Destination 

IMG_8915

Finally! You’ve arrived at your luxurious hotel or your gorgeous beach villa. You are now ready to start reading properly.

So the first thing of course is to plan your reading based on what kind of holiday it is and basically what you plan to do during your time away. Obviously someone going sightseeing everyday is going to read a lot less then someone going away to simply chill out on a beach. So plan according to that.

Once you’ve established how much reading you can get done, it’s time to pick the books that you will read there. I strongly suggest tackling some of the larger books in your collection while you are away. While it is harder to bring around luggage-wise, you have to remember that you will have more time then you usually would to read. So books that might seem quite daunting because you have work and school could actually become a real breeze because you are so much more free. Also feel free to go with books that might be heavier content-wise. You have the space and the state of mind to tackle these if it suits your fancy.

DSC_0891

Another tip I would like to slip in here is to bring an e-reader if possible. It’s so much easier and you can get in 50 books if it so pleases you. That means that if a book just isn’t working for you, you can easily switch over. Also it’s a lot more weight and space friendly.

If you are bringing physical books though, remember to bring at least one more book then you think you will need just in case. You don’t want to be stuck somewhere without a book. Of course you could always buy a book there but you’re overseas and you might not be too familiar with your area so it might be harder then you think to find a bookstore that has the kind of books that you are looking for as well as the book in a language you understand.

There are always pros and cons to bringing either an e-reader or a physical book. Go with what you are comfortable with because you don’t want to be struggling with a format that you are uncomfortable with when you don’t have the option to switch.

Holiday Book Recommendations:

  • An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • The Throne Of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
  • Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
  • The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah

IMG_8819

Of course what you read and how much you read is entirely up to you. It’s your holiday so don’t feel pressured to read a certain number of books or a certain genre. These are just my suggestions based on my personal experiences. Everybody is different so take these tips but tweak them to fit YOU.

I hope you enjoyed my tips and that they helped you to pack your reading materials. I will see you guys when I get home next Friday. Follow me on my social media if you want to follow me on my trip in Bali. I will be updating them  constantly.

If you are going away on holiday, let me know what you favourite vacation book is in the comments.

Bye guys! xoxo

Leave a Reply

