5 Books That I Have DNF-ed 

Hello there my cupcakes!

I’ve been having a bit of writers block lately. I haven’t really known what to write or even film about and even my reading pace has slowed down. And I figured that may be largely due to the fact that I have been reading some pretty crappy books lately and basically making my life hard by refusing to DNF (did not finish).

If you know me, you would know that I hate DNF-ing a book. I like to give books a chance and I hate knowing that I invested time, no matter how much or how little, in a book only for it to not be included in my reading challenge count. I mean I read a minimum of two books a week. Combined with blogging and making and editing videos, I am busy. I don’t have the time to be DNF-ing.

But I think as I read more and become more critical of what I read, I have also become less tolerant of books that are absolutely crap. I mean there are billions of amazing books out there and my TBR list is miles long. I don’t want to waste time with a book that quite frankly sucks. So today I thought I would share with you the five most notable books that I have DNF-ed over the last two years.

1) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak 

8120173

This may come as quite a surprise to most people because The Book Thief is loved by many and you guys know that I love historical fiction and books that make me cry. So this book really should have been one of my favourites. But I just couldn’t get into it. I first picked it up a few years ago. I put it down after a few chapters. This year, I tried again and found myself putting it down again. So I don’t really know what is going on with me and this book and I but obviously something just isn’t clicking.

2) Zodiac by Romina Russell 

20821306

I posted a mini rant on this damn book just yesterday when I finally gave in and DNF-ed it. So Zodiac was my bookclub’s book of the month for September and I started it on the first day of September if I’m not wrong. But I just was so bored and annoyed at the entire story. So I put it down and next thing you know, I’ve read 5 books and this one is still sitting in my ‘Currently Reading’ shelf. And I just dreaded having to go back to it. Honestly this book was one of the most irritating, infuriating and downright stupid books I’ve ever read. The main character was shallow and selfish. She basically got everything she could ever want handed to her on a plate and immediately forgets her humble beginning. There was so much insta-love I nearly died. Everything was unbelievable to the max. And overall it was just a sucky book that I took way too long to DNF.

3) Red Rising by Pierce Brown

15839976

Alrighty. Another rant is coming. Okay so this was my bookclub’s book of the month for August (yeah we haven’t had very good months lately). And most of us started it at around the same time so we were discussing it constantly and I only DNF-ed when everyone else did. Anyway, this book is firstly gross. The narrator is very crude and disgusting. He uses words that make me uncomfortable. I’m not the most sensitive reader but I have problems when a narrator goes into so much detail about his bodily functions. In fact, I’ve DNF-ed more then one book due to over emphasis on bodily functions. I just think it’s unnecessary and gross. I’m human. I know what we have to do. I don’t need you to remind me in explicit detail thank you very much.

Secondly, I found the whole concept of the story to be hard to follow and quite boring. Like I felt like it was an age-old story but just told badly.

I can’t really tell you much else because I DNF-ed at 35% but I was just not enjoying the story and I felt like it was such a chore to read it.

4) Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

4584

I started reading this while on holiday in Bali two years ago and I remember that I thought it was decent but I just didn’t like it. It didn’t interest me. In fact it was just really boring. I was quite disappointed because the cover is gorgeous and the blurb is interesting but I just didn’t like it.

5) The Shadow Of The Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

1232

I started this book last month mainly because my brother wanted me to read it. It’s his favourite book and he has been pestering me to read it for the longest time. So I finally picked it up and I found it to be really boring. It lacked that defining factor that made it special in my opinion. I might try to pick this book up again soon but for now, it’s a DNF on account of it being damn boring.

Well that’s it. I have a lot more DNF-ed books in my shelf and if you want me to share more, let me know. For now though, let me know in the comments what book you’ve DNF-ed recently or your favourite DNF. Because let’s face it. Finally DNF-ing a horrid book is one of the best feelings.

Also don’t forget to check out my two latest Youtube videos. I have a review of The Martian up as well as a video on how to manage reading with school. I’m quite pleased with them so go have a look and subscribe or leave a comment or anything if you like it.

See you guys soon!

2 thoughts on “5 Books That I Have DNF-ed 

Leave a Reply

